We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty sandwiches, wonderful desserts”

Carshon's Delicatessen
Ranked #157 of 1,556 Restaurants in Fort Worth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches, wonderful desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I hadn't heard of this little deli spot near TCU before a couple of days ago, when a co-worker recommended it. So we came today for our annual Christmas lunch -- I walked in and saw a deli counter, but was surprised to learn that it was sit-down service with waitstaff. The atmosphere was familiar and comfortable, and the waitstaff was friendly and attentive.

I opted for the Ruthie sandwich -- corned beef, turkey, cole slaw and Russian dressing on egg bread -- and it was very tasty. My boss got herself a cup of their daily soup, which was chicken noodle, and I wished I'd done likewise, as it looked and smelled wonderful.

In checking out the reviews prior to my visit, I noted how everyone raved over the desserts -- well, today they had *butterscotch* meringue pie! I think more places ought to have butterscotch dessert offerings, honestly. It was heaven on a plate.

One thing to keep in mind is that the place is cash or check only -- your plastic won't do you any good here. I would assume they have an ATM on site, but I can't recall right now, so you'd be advised to have cash ready when you come.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonfire98A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best sandwiches ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Go and order the Rebecca ... pastrami, turkey, cream cheese then grilled, served by a friendly server... you will thank me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txrubbbbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Banana cream pie! Time Travel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A little time capsule with good food. Great sandwiches (and a wonderful selection of them). Classic tile interior and efficient waitresses. Banana cream pie to dream about. It was in a terrible looking part of town, sort of the neighborhood God forgot, but otherwise a memorable lunch.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great deli fare, but the desserts are excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Every now and again I get a less-than-perfect corned beef on rye with Swiss (grilled) at Carshon's, but I'm not going to low-rate it because the chocolate pie and chocolate pudding cake outrank anything you can buy anywhere else in the Metroplex. The homemade split-pea soup lacks salt, but this is good considering the target age group that meets at Carshon's doesn't eat a lot of salt, and it's always something that can be added at the table. But it's thick and creamy and almost a meal unto itself if you get the bowl, not the cup. My husband likes any of the sandwiches, but I'm a dyed-in-the-wool corned beef on rye with Swiss--grill it! The place is small, and packed if you go at noon, and there's not a lot of parking available, and once you start going, you'll recognize the same repeat customers. At Thanksgiving, they take pie and other dessert orders, so put yourself on the list. Great coconut pie, too. You won't be disappointed with this genuine delicatessen, and it beats any other place calling itself a deli, hands-down. Open for breakfast and lunch, closed on Sundays. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had lunch yesterday at this deli and bakery establishment.
The menu items like kosher pastrami and
Corned beef are excellent. All of the side orders are made fresh daily as well as the bread selections. The portions of food are generous and the menu prices are very reasonable. Thie service is superb.
If you want a quick very nourishing meal this is the place.



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vswaugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carshon's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Carshon's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing