We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Texas White House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Fort Worth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Texas White House was a very pleasant place to stay. Breakfasts were great and our host and hostess went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumbo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and arrived earlier than we anticipated (called just before arrival), but Grover and Jamie were ready for us and gracious. They had also been quite accommodating when we thought we needed a late check-in. If you like antiques, you will love this B&B. Our room was spacious and had a large bathroom. They are convenient to downtown and TCU. Coffee was available before breakfast and the porch and backyard swing were great places to hang-out. The only changes we might have enjoyed would be the availability of a brighter light in the room and a grab bar for stepping into and out of the claw-foot tub. The food was very good, attractively presented, and plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The Texas White House is within a few miles of several tourist spots in Fort Worth. It has a quaintness about it, without losing some of the amenities that I enjoy having at a hotel/B&B (Wireless Internet, TV, etc). The service is excellent, and the breakfast is delicious. The only drawback I noticed is that if you stay in one of the rooms towards the front of the house (which we did), you get quite a bit of street noise. Still, the noise was not overbearing, and I'm willing to overlook it when considering the whole package. Overall, it was a great way to relax while visiting Fort Worth.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AggieCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Texas White House with Grover and Jamie many times. The hospitality is warm, the breakfast and snacks delicious, and the rooms are neat and inviting.

Located in the medical district and easily accessible from I-30, the inn faces onto Eighth Street which can be busy during the day. In the evening, however, traffic is very light and things are nice and quiet. A quick drive north on Eighth takes you right into downtown Ft. Worth--literally minutes from Sundance Square. It's also close to the Amon Carter Museum, the Kimball Museum, and other attractions of the cultural district. The Stockyards are a bit farther afield, but still only about 20 minutes away.

We have stayed in all the rooms in the main house. Each has its own allure, but overall I prefer the Lone Star Room. It is a bit larger than the other two.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guitar1Plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Texas White House is a wonderful B&B just south of the Ft. Worth Cultural District. Our room was large and comfortable and our hosts were accommodating without being at all intrusive. We felt completely at home. The McMains know the town well and provide plenty of great information about dining, events and sites. The breakfast is delicious! We highly recommend The Texas White House.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Texas White House with Grover & Jamie. Their charming 100 year old B & B, filled with beautiful antiques, was the highlight of our stay in Fort Worth. Their location was convenient to Fort Worth's wonderful museums and great downtown area including a number of fantastic restaurants. We had a ball! Unfortunately, Jamie was recovering from some minor surgery so we were not able to experience her legendary breakfast but Grover treated us to breakfast at a very nice family restaurant within easy walking distance. We are really looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellingj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Texas White House. They were very accommodating and everything was just right the entire time. This was the perfect gift for my husband's 50th birthday!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melodiesfromthesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#5 of 114 in Fort Worth
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#10 of 114 in Fort Worth
1,354 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texas White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas White House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1417 8th Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76104-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Worth
Price Range: $154 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Texas White House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historically designated, award winning, country-style home has been restored to its original 1910 grandeur of simple, yet elegant decor. It is centrally located, within five minutes of downtown and Sundance Square, the Bass Performance Hall, the Fort Worth Zoo, the Kimbell and Amon Carter Art Museums, Omni Theater, Botanic Gardens, Water Gardens and TCU. Three guest rooms in the main house all have a luxurious king or queen-sized bed with your choice of pillows, relaxing sitting-areas and private baths with claw-footed tubs for showers or baths. The carriage house has two suites; the first floor has a living room with cable TV, DVD, VCR, small refrigerator and microwave; bedroom has a queen-sized bed and sitting area; bathroom has a two-person jacuzzi tub. The second floor has a large sitting area, cable TV, DVD, VCR and small refrigerator; bedroom has a queen bed; bathroom has a two-person jacuzzi; off of the bedroom is a two-person, dry heat sauna. This suite also has its own, small balcony porch. Guests are afforded complete privacy; however, if desired, they may enjoy the main house parlor, living room with fireplace, dining room, large wrap-around porch and gazebo. Breakfast, described by one of the guests as, "fit for visiting royalty", may be served in either the dining room or to your room and will be a gourmet treat with fresh fruit or baked fruit in compote (seasonal), baked egg casseroles and homemade breads and muffins, juices, coffee or tea served on antique china with sterling silver and crystal. Other amenities include desks, private line telephone and free local calls, wireless internet, early morning coffee service, upon request, snacks and beverages and off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Texas White House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Texas White House Hotel Fort Worth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing