We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Fort Worth
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Fossil Creek for the races last weekend. We had stayed there once before a couple of years ago and thought it was fine. So we booked again this time and it was awful. Don't know if they have changed hands since our earlier stay or not, but we will never stay there again. The shower/tub is awful, (non-stick surface was peeling at the edge and mold was visible beneath it), the mattress and pillows are on the decline, the coffeemaker in the room was busted, the toilet paper and facial tissue was the most horrid, cheap "newspaperish" product I've ever encountered anywhere, elevator is noticeably slow and the breakfast isn't nearly as good as before. In fact, there were 3 coffee pots on the rack around 8:00 a.m., and every one of them was empty. Breakfast bread, boiled eggs, creamer, milk, etc., had not been replenished. I had to go ask the MANAGER to make some coffee because we could hear the other 2-3 staff members partying it up down the hall. When we politely voiced our dissatisfaction to the manager upon check-out, he merely grinned, shrugged and said "the customer is always right"..... no "I'm sorry", no NOTHING, just smirking and shoulder shrugs. Something's going waaaaay wrong with that place and we will never return. And they obviously don't give a hoot.

Room Tip: This is the worst Best Western BY FAR that we have ever stayed in. Don't bother. Just try to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    19
    9
    15
See reviews for
26
16
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

my only complaint is the carpet was stained and did not feel the upstairs rooms were kept as clean as should have been. The continental breakfast was very good. Customer service was exceptional. Best price I could find in short notice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty56797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Clean comfortable room. Good sized, nice TV (could have more channel choices, but we weren't there to watch TV)
Fair breakfast, Hard Boiled Pre-package breakfast sandwiches. There are breakfast bars, and Muffins (Choc, banana nut, blueberry, and poppy seed) And the yogurt was light, not such a good thing for those allergic to the artificial sweeteners.
Did not get to check out the pool or the fitness room.
Interior corridors are especially nice in Texas heat or chilly mornings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loni_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were passing through on I-35W when we decided to stop for the night. Rooms were well furnished and relatively new. Bathroom lighting needs to be improved but other than that, no complaints. We got up too late to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my friend while we were in Fort Worth for a concert. It was great--good service, fantastic breakfast and everything in good working condition and clean. The only problem I had was with the sheets staying on the bed, they kept popping off at the corners which I didn't like but nothing huge to fret about.

Overall, great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natnik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

There was really nothing wrong with this hotel at all. It seemed to be used pretty hard and showed it a bit, but they were keeping it well maintained. Pretty strong smell of cleaning chemicals so if you're among those bothered by that be forewarned. The desk staff was very attentive and friendly. Beds average, bedding was kind of light. For the price it was a good value. We only stayed one night traveling on business, don't know how well it would sit with me for a more extended stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waddayouthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed at this property for 3 nights, the beds are GREAT, the staff is friendly and the price was right.

The staff bends over backwards to meet your needs and Gus the General Manager went out of his way to say hello and make sure everything was perfect for my stay. Dollar for Dollar you won't go wrong with this property.

Room Tip: I could look out my window and see I-35, however I could not really hear the interstate, however you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#30 of 110 in Fort Worth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Worth
Quality Inn Fort Worth
#87 of 110 in Fort Worth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fort Worth - Fossil Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Worth I-35 Western Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Worth Fossil Creek
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Worth/Fossil Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek

Property: Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek
Address: 6700 Fossil Bluff Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76137-6579 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Fossil Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort Worth
Fort Worth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing