We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gourmet Southwestern Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnell's Restaurant

Bonnell's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bonnell's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,496 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 183/Southwest Blvd
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet Southwestern Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Bonnell's competes well with any restaurant anywhere. The ingredients are unique to Texas. Their preparation is absolutely top drawer.

Splurge and enjoy their wine list. They have some great choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhultgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    41
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“special anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I recently went there for our second wedding anniversary. We had a good time. Service was great, food presentation was very good as was also taste. I had the fire-rosted chile relleno for my entree. personally thought my entree didn't quite meet my expectations, but that is not because the food was not good; I just had set very high expectations because we can't afford expensive meals very often and i am a very good cook. Since it was our anniversary we were hoping for a more romantic experience, so we would have added soft background music, so all the chatting around us would have not seem so loud. Overall we had a good experience and hope to be back in the future. Good size portions, tasty and soft corn bread, and great coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caroyandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine Texas Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bonnell's was near a route back to the hotel. We wanted some typical Texas faire, so we stopped. WOW- this place is outstanding! The decor is warm and subdued, the service is great (attentive, but not hovering) and the food is exceptional. We had the pecan encrusted gulf redfish with heirloom tomatoes. Heirloom tomatoes are so flavorful, and the fish was a good size portion, served with Texas style dirty rice. This plate was $26, I think, which is reasonable for what it is and locally grown ingredients. The bread is a little jalapeno triangle (not hot at all- just flavorful) and a round cornbread. Very good. The wine and liquor list is extensive. The key-lime pie for dessert was good. Bonnell's is gourmet at it's finest- worth the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyd, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First time at Bonnell’s, everything was GREAT. The young lady that was our server had to be one of the “BEST”, and we have been many places around the world. I can assure you we “Will Be Back”. Suggest you give it a try, well worth the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B52Gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Bonnell's specializes in Texas-themed dishes made with Texas-sourced ingredients, when possible, and they are wonderfully done. The setting is informally elegant, the service top-notch, the wine list impressive for the range of its offerings. A roasted tomato-jalapeno bisque is delightful, a lemony caesar salad is very nice. Some dishes feature crispy capers (deep fried until crunchy), a wonderful idea. The meat dishes are superbly rendered and cooked to perfection, including succulent partly boned quail, buffalo, elk, and house-made andouille sausage. Friends told us Bonnell's is the best restaurant in Fort Worth, and we have no argument with this judgment. Fabulous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bonnell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing