We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #77 of 1,562 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering the famous Fort Worth Zoo, TCU (Texas Christian University) and down from the Amen Carter Convention Center and the famous Stockyards area. We proudly serve Premium Angus beef and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, chicken fried steaks, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it salt & pepper simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample a brew from our extensive list of local, national and international beers. Hoffbrau Steaks is here to serve you great Steaks'n Smiles. Our Happy Hour is from 4pm until 7pm Monday through Friday. Enjoy dining on our great patio while you sip on a cold beer or any of our special Margarita's. Our patio is pet friendly and you may even see a horse hitched out back every so often. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I loved the service and the meal I recieved!!!! Kudos to the owners, managers, and employees!!!! Thank you for a wonderful meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    75
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brady, TX, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good choice in the TCU area”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found this to be a good choice. We enjoyed splitting a 10.2.4 (Dr. Pepper) burger topped with tasty onion rings. The bread brought out before the meal is very good. Service and décor were pleasing as well. We actually went twice on our five day trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are thrilled that you liked our best little steakhouse down from TCU. Twice in one week, we LOVE that. Hopefully Bristol is not too far and you come back again soon. Rainey Fogiel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fills that steak craving”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We get to Ft. Worth only once every year or two and always make a beeline to our favorite Texas steakhouse. Love their steaks and bread. Get the house vinigerette dressing if you like green olives. Also order the grill corn. I recommend both. Would give a perfect score, but meat was a bit grissily. Didn't stop my enjoyment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonikashears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hoffbrau Steaks”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bring back the steak soup and the sour dough bread. Your changing your brand to be more closely aligned with Golden Corral.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We thank you for giving us your feedback. Like most restaurants, we change our menu a couple of times a year to keep things fresh and to introduce new and improved items. As a family (my husband Aron, Paul, our Chief Operating Officer and myself) look at what we have consistency issues with, what is not popular with our Guests and make decisions based on those factors.

Let me explain why we made the changes with our bread. Hoffbrau is about quality and following our mission statement of “wow”ing our Guests. Even though many of you were happy with our bread, we had more complaints than compliments. The main complaints were, “it’s too hard”, its “unsanitary as folks have to touch it to cut it” or “its too sour” and also it was not consistent with our brand which is genuine Texas. It is really hard to please everyone and I wish we could and we hope you understand.

We removed the steak soup as we sold very little of it and ended up throwing it out.
We have added many new items to our menu and would hope that you will come and give them a chance. I hope this helps explain why we do the things we do and thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel. Best,
Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We went there our first night in Texas. We were very happy with the food and service. The ribeye was delicious. The peach cobbler was awesome. The service was fast and very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkayhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the awesome comments. Hope to see you back in Texas soon. Best, RaineyFogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing