We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #75 of 1,567 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering the famous Fort Worth Zoo, TCU (Texas Christian University) and down from the Amen Carter Convention Center and the famous Stockyards area. We proudly serve Premium Angus beef and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, chicken fried steaks, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it salt & pepper simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample a brew from our extensive list of local, national and international beers. Hoffbrau Steaks is here to serve you great Steaks'n Smiles. Our Happy Hour is from 4pm until 7pm Monday through Friday. Enjoy dining on our great patio while you sip on a cold beer or any of our special Margarita's. Our patio is pet friendly and you may even see a horse hitched out back every so often. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
irvine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hoffbrau steaks has something for everyone. Steaks cooked to perfection. Just the way we liked them. Broccoli jalepeno soup was delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    76
    28
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Used To Be Better”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family always enjoyed going to Hoffbrau on University over the years, but the quality of food and service seems to have declined of late. Some menu items are now gone, They no longer serve the sourdough bread loaves. The last time we visited, our steaks were tough. My husband and I both have May birthdays, and when we brought in coupons we had received via email from the restaurant to use for our birthdays, they would only honor one of them. We had been allowed to use both at the same time in the past. Our server wasn't very efficient. We never had our water refilled, and were never offered more bread. We have not been back since that experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food as usual...but somewhat loud. If you really want to talk, don't even try. If there is a large party in one room, it's too loud. Other than that, we always love to go there. Clean, good food...and very nice and cool.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank horatio71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and we do apologize that sometimes when there is a large party in one of the rooms, it does tend to get loud. We hope to see you back soon. Rainey Fogiel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Both the food and service were good. Got a free appetizer with a coupon from my hotel; chips and ranch dressing were quite tasty. Steak was underdone (didn't send it back) but tasty, as was were the potatoes and rolls. No room for dessert, but they looked good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank susanbpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service...but not so great food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Yo begin with, we were very happy with the courteous service at this restaurant. They were great to our family. Having said that, unfortunatly, we were not happy with the quality of the food. I ordered a ribeye steak and it was one of the worst steaks I have had at a restaurant. It was dry and hard to cut. It was a shame. Our hotel recommended this place, but the food was not worth the price we paid as a family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MustangLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are so sorry that you were disapointed in the food and wish I knew more as that only makes us better. We do appreciate you letting us know. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau STeaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing