We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect little neighborhood gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood's German European

Greenwood's German European
Ranked #148 of 1,497 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect little neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Let me start by saying this isn't Lonesome Dove or Saint Emillion, but it isn't meant to be. When my husband and I came here, we were looking for good food, and we found it. The ambiance isn't romantic, and we mainly heard German techno while we dined, but it felt like the little cafés I frequented when visiting Germany. The menu is decidedly German, so give it a miss if you're looking for something American. We enjoyed everything we had. We aren't drinkers, so I can't comment on the wine/beer list.

The service was quick, and friendly, but not gushing like some people seem to expect. We really enjoyed our visit here and plan to return soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NOT TOP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

There is no way this is a top restaurant in Antarctica let alone Fort Worth. Clearly the other 16 reviewers are family of owners. Slow service, mediocre food, and dingy digs. Stay away folks, it's a trap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Large_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great authentic German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very tasty-as always.
Four of us all tried different items-all were outstanding, from the always delivcious homemade spatzle, to the Jgerschnitzel and the Marinierter Sauerbraten, to the potato pancakes.
We even tried dessert this time and the Vaniia Ice Cream wrap was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FortWorthSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solid German Food - but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Yes - this is authentic German food. I grew up in Milwaukee where German food is a religion. The spaetzle was outstanding. HOWEVER - limited options for non-german dishes. Very limited wine list - about 10 wines with nothing special. Our service was lacking. Two orders arrived - then the next 2 - but the last was almost 5 minutes after the others. Finished with strudel which was excellent. Lots of local regulars which is also a good sign. It is the best german food in FTW - solid - but it does not match up with the best in Milwaukee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
231 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A little piece of Germany in Fort Worth ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The reviews of this restaurant were what brought us there. It didn't take long for us to determine that the high ratings and superb reviews were all well deserved. I've lived in Germany for more than five years during my life, and I can assure you that this food is unquestionably authentic.

Helpful?
1 Thank BaldEagle1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood's German European also viewed

 

Been to Greenwood's German European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing