We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and plenty of it”
Review of Texas de Brazil

Texas de Brazil
Reserve with OpenTable
Texas de Brazil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,562 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Fort Worth
Cross street: Houston St. & Weatherford St.
Description: Texas de Brazil is carving out a whole new experience in fine dining. The restaurant is an authentic Brazilian-American "Churrascaria" or steakhouse that combines the cuisines of Southern Brazil with the generous spirit of Texas.Treat yourself to our 50-60 item seasonal salad area including appetizers, gourmet vegetables, soups, and salads. Turn your place card to green and prepare to be swarmed by a troop of carvers generously serving various cuts of seasoned beef, lamb, pork, chicken and Brazilian sausage, all accompanied by traditional side items and house-baked Brazilian cheese bread. As you dine endlessly on Brazilian fare, let one of our in-house wine connoisseurs select the perfect pairing from our extensive, award-winning wine lists, or sip on a freshly-made signature cocktail-the Caipirinha. Complete your dining experience with one of our many decadent dessert selections, and then relax with an after-dinner drink, steaming espresso and enjoy the ambiance and service perfection that is uniquely Texas de Brazil.
Breckenridge, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and plenty of it”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went to the Thanksgiving lunch, arrived early no problem seated very quick. Turkey was outstanding as was all the other meat offerings. Had to sit on second floor long stairway walk. Service was outstanding, food delicious, salad bar was outstanding. The only suggestion would be for Thanksgiving, offer some good dressing. Very pleased overall and will return again, a bit pricey but knew that going in. Very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George19549809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    131
    48
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quantity not quality”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The restaurant is nice and service was excellent, but the food was lacking, especially the meats. Everything was heavily salted. If I pay $$$$ for a meal I expect it to be memorable, in a good way. I guess if you are a heavy eater, and like to gorge yourself this is the place for you. There are too many better restaurant choices nearby for me to return. Like my wife said, " I don't think I would eat there again if it was free!"

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cattlemanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I ended up eating just the salad bar which was about $32 after tax. The items on the salad bar were fresh & some were rather unique. I can't speak to the meat, but if I ate it, it seemed like it would've been good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NerdyGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Texas churrascaria”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

One of the most elegant restaurant in Fort Worth, Texas on the churros, Texan meet on the churros!!

But not only meet...
The are is a fantastic buffet of appetizer... I am Italian and believe me.... Is really good and the quality great!!!!

If you are with friend stay on the ground floor, the upper is most romantic

Helpful?
Thank El_Panciot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 922 helpful votes
“Texas de Brazil vs Fago de Chao; guess who got beat up?”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is a very popular place in Fort Worth for a balance of good food and price compared to its competitors: real upscale and more expensive Reata Steak place or unusually good P.F. Chang or Uno in Sun-dance Square dining scenario. So reservation is a must or else risk sitting at the bar for 1 hour before you get a table, even on a weekday.

Where Texas de Brazil ace:
- PR and promotion: you can easily get $25 off coupon sent to your email by joining fan club online and more will come for your special occasions. On the other hand, Fago appears to throw my application away once I left the restaurant and never heard from them.

At par with Fago (almost):
- Meat selections and service: As both of them are premier Brazilian Churrascaria (steakhouse), server takes time to explain what to expect with different kinds of meat, especially to try Picanha (best part, must do), to try fried banana so that you will be ready from next round of meat feast etc. Another manager, a lady is also supervising, as in Fago, and you can request your favorite meat, e.g. lamb to come quicker and whether you want it rare, well done etc. But some meat came very rare here and in Fago, meat on a single skewer tends to have a rare part and a more cooked part (may be Fago put skewer in a horizontal position to fire as in traditional way and thus, bottom part nearer to fire is more well cooked). Here, they randomly put skewers over ordinary looking grill place when it becomes cold.

Areas for improvement:
This place became a victim of its own success. In order to accommodate high volume of customers:
1) They put many tables as possible and it is annoying when other customers and Gaucho (meat server) continuously hit your chair at every turns. On the other hand, in Fago, there is enough space to "dance" between tables.
2) Poor Gauchos appear tired after continuously serving meat for 3-4 hours. So their attitude was just to finish and tried to serve many times when there was a red sign on my table. Don't they know that meat needs to be hot before customers are ready to eat. Biggest mistake you can make in this kind of place is letting them place different kind of lukewarm meat in your plate and by the time you eat, it is as cold as "sushi" meat. As described above, manager also tried to get your favorite meat quick but Gauchos are assigned to too many tables and it can take a while before you see another Gaucho with different meat, and worse, it is cold. They should hire more people after charging a premium price to customers.
3) In this particular restaurant, gourmet salad bar is placed in a weird place, at the entrance after you see a receptionist. So it is in some high traffic area where people wait to get a table and thus look less appetizing. Moreover, nobody fill the salad bar or refresh the area, clean up spill for 1 hour and soup bowls ran out many times. How do I know, I was there the whole time waiting at the bar.

It might be an "off-day" with too many customers and I may try Texas de Brazil one more time. If it is the same, I am done with this Brand and will happily paid $5 more for dinner at Fago de Chao ($45 vs $50).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas de Brazil also viewed

 

Been to Texas de Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing