We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Camp Bowie Mexican Inn - great traditional Tex-Mex” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexican Inn Cafes

Mexican Inn Cafes
Ranked #252 of 1,512 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
stafford, va
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Camp Bowie Mexican Inn - great traditional Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Camp Bowie Road version of the Mexican Inn was a great find for traditional Tex-Mex food when I visited for the Armed Forces Bowl. I had the tamales and my companions had the cheese enchiladas, and both were great traditional versions, complete with free homemade corn tortillas on the side. The chips and salsa were notably good - the chips were puffy and full of flavor, tasted like they were made from homemade tortillas (as advertised).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johncatworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Favorite for 40+ years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been coming to the Camp Bowie restaurant since I was a child. It remains my favorite and I visit every time I am in Fort Worth. My old stand-by is the Deluxe Mexican Dinner. The fresh hot corn tortillas are the very best I've had anywhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CDNettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My Go To Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my go to Mexican restaurant when I just want a good, fresh plate of Tex-Mex. I usually go to the Camp Bowie Mexican Inn rather than the one on Henderson St., and I always get the #1 Tiffin Hall and substitute sour cream chicken enchiladas for the cheese enchiladas. The food is always well prepared and delicious. Mexican Inn is more of a family restaurant. They have good frozen swirl margaritas, and the service is always excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Don't confuse the new Mexican Inns with the few old originals remaining...the one on Henderson is one of the originals and a family favorite. Can't find a better tortilla! And I love the oldstyle pats of real butter between the cardboard and wax paper. I could honestly just go here and fill up on chips and tortillas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mom_in_dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
502 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Mexican Inn - Burleson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although we have eaten many times at the original Mexican Inn i Ft Worth, this review is for the one in Burleson. It is very good. Sevice and food. We always enjoy. Nice drinks, hand made tortillas, and great chili rellanos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Inn Cafes also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Inn Cafes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing