We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied our Tex Mex craving”

Joe T Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 1,562 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cut and Shoot, Texas
Level Contributor
868 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Satisfied our Tex Mex craving”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Any visitor to Ft Worth has to come here...we usually do lunch where enchiladas , tacos, and rice and beans are served family style. We were here for dinner and learned we had 2 options: enchiladas with rice and beans or fajitas. We split a fajita order and left full. Lots of great steak and chicken but needed more rice and beans. The meal was great, but the margaritas were a bit weak, small in size, and overpriced. But fast service and tons of folks enjoying the outdoor patio.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Badgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    569
    330
    157
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not so hot”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Joe T's is convenient to FW Stockyards visitors. The atmosphere is great. It has the feel of a real Mexican hacienda, and the patio dining is beautiful. Mariachis seranade the tables. When I was working, out of town business VIPs loved this place...it was always somewhere they wanted to go.

HOWEVER, Joe T's doesn't give separate tickets for groups, and you have your choice of only two entrees: fajitas or enchilladas. That's it. The food was OK, but not outstanding. I probably won't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Joe T's”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Always go to Joe T's when in DFW area. It's like a tradition! Great atmoshere, strong margaritas, and big plates of food! Dining by the pool is wonderful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent venue”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been going to Joe T's since back in the 1950s with my Mom and Dad. We used to go thru the kitchen. Have seen and continue to see the famous and not do famous. The food is consistent and good the atmosphere and surroundings outside wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Foods Okay, Great Ambiance”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's hard to separate the food from the overall Joe T experience. The food is not the best TexMex. It's passable...I've been there a few times when even that would be a stretch, but add the gardens on a pleasant day, and it's unbeatable. Save your money on the pitcher of margaritas. They are watery, but order by the glass and they are much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe T Garcia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joe T Garcia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing