We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Lunch Site”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Door Bistro - CLOSED

Red Door Bistro
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Waitstaff
Description: Located a stone's throw from the new tollway, the strip -mall facade gives way to handsome, elegant room, with wood colored tables and chairs, floor-to-ceiling windows, concrete floors and an extensive wine list. Sleek, upscale, yet comfortable.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mediocre Lunch Site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Perhaps our opinion was jaded because our group of 4 just had entree salads for lunch. The restaurant is very nicely appointed and our server was very good; however the lunch crowd was quite small. It was a good restaurant to enjoy a nice, leisurely lunch & we were certainly not hurried to leave. Our server even offered to refill our drinks long after the checks were paid - a good sign. However, all of our salads were just mediocre. 2 of us ordered the grilled chicken salad - and the grilled chicken breast was a nice size but totally devoid of spices. The strawberry viniagrette was also overpowering. The Waldorf salad was nice, but nothing special. Bread was served hot, but the butter was super cold. We agreed that we might try dinner there, but would not be returning for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprise excellent place close to shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Red Door Bistro was a great surprise. We asked for recommendations for a place to eat while shopping nearby. The clerk told us everyone at the store went there. It was fantastic! My friend was recently back from New York. She commented that the place was just like places there. If I find myself back in Fort Worth I would go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We need places like this in SW Fort Worth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

First trip to this small, unusually located, but charming place. The food was way above expectations. Beignets with olives, feta, and honey (!) starter is perfect to split for two. Quail over risotto was wonderful. The evening special lemon sole over parmesan risotto with asparagus was as well. And if risotto seems like a theme with entrees it can be but it is outstanding stuff. Had a couple glasses of Italian pinot grigio and French sauvignon blanc, both good (French better). Ordered small arugula/walnut/parmigiano salads with the entrees. Closed with a lovely limoncello dessert split two ways. $107 with tax no tip. For the quality this place is a steal and deserves to be supported by the local community. A great neighborhood bistro, go and see.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“QUIET BISTRO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

First visit to Red Door Bistro left me knowing that I would return. Friend and I both ordered the evening special - lemon sole with risotto and found it to be excellent. Starter was a "side" portion of Caesar salad which was very good. While our server could have been more professional, this restaurant has great promise - the menu is varied enough to please almost any preference; the décor is clean and bright (maybe a bit sparse to some but in such a small space, perfect). The location is odd in such a non-descript little strip center but is well located to many residences with little else in the area for good dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Need to give it a second try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Met a friend for early dinner, I was early so ordered a glass of wine. Had to send the wine back as it was apparent that the bottle had been open too long.
Now the food was quite good. Eclectic menu with good selections. The warm goat cheese, olives and crostini a good way to start a meal. I had the Farfalle pasta with chicken, the light pesto sauce was excellent, my friend had the baked salmon which she said was very good.
One drawback is the limited space, felt as if the staff was staring at us during the meal. Think the staff is trying a little too hard. Will try it again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erialcTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Door Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing