We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Market Cafe

Central Market Cafe
Ranked #123 of 1,512 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Always clean. Always fresh food. The sandwiches made in the Cafe on the Run are delicious and inexpensive. I often pick up their Pre-made dinners for two for a delicious dinner for my boyfriend and I!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Grocery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I also enjoy going to Central Market. I can find most speciality products there. I enjoy the ready made foods as well as the quick meal take out. The events they have in their school are fun and informative

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mg655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
366 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great olive and salad bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great olives and friday night burgers on the porch! Served with cold beer and lots of people. Great pizzas and sandwiches as well. Lots of local food with really informed staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dangerous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My first couple trips to Central Market my eyes got me into trouble filling up my cart too quickly with scads of cool stuff that you won't see in other grocery stores. Since this time my friends and I have formulated a plan. First, go in the cafe and eat. yes eat. Eat the wonderful food and if it has green chile in it, chances are its fantastic. They have some kind of bottled water that's made just for Central Market at like 40 cents a bottle that tastes "soft" for lack of a better word and pretty awesome. Then get some of the best gelato in all of Texas. Really, my friends and I agree that Central Market gelato is better than Paciugo or the italian place on Main Street in Grapevine or Cowboy's Gelato in Amarillo. Mario's on the Seawall in Galveston in my mind has the very best gelato in Texas and Central Market is number 2 in my book and a whole lot closer to home. They give free tastes and will blend flavors in your cup if you request it. Once I got pineapple and coconut blended and my friends all had gelato cup envy. Now once your belly is full of great food and gelato, then and only then should you let yourself loose shopping in Central Market so you can keep your purchases under control. If you're in the refrigerated deli section, look for the pimento cheese made in South Carolina with a couple palm trees on the label. Best dang pimento cheese you've ever had in your whole life. Just try it and then try to tell me I'm wrong, go on, I dare you. Central Market also has the best selection of organic soap in DFW and their floral department is also the best in a grocery store. They have garden roses that are swoon worthy. And the wine... oh my. Don't even get me started on wine. They break it down by section so if you want sweet wine like I crave just go to the sweet section. or you can go to the "Buy Local" area and look at only Texas wines and make a selection. They have fancy French wine too. I love going to Central Market the most during Hatch Green Chile festival when they roast chile peppers out in the parking lot. Any field trip to Central Market is a good day. Central Market is technically owned by H.E. Butts Grocery which owns H.E.B. so I think of it as gourmet H.E.B. awesomeness.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkRoseBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
140 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Go here to find funky stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Go here to find unique food items. It's an experience just to travel section to section in this grocery store/wonderland. Fruit and veggie, meat and fish selections are always fresh, and offer a wide variety. They also tell you where each item is from. Samples are often offered, and are fun to try. Great wine section, and many imported beers. Lovely bakery section, with a wide variety of fresh baked items; bread loaves can be sliced to order. Large to-go section - with many entrees, veggies, salads, and soups offered.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTerry317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Central Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing