We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience - the food and staff are excellent”
Review of Shinjuku Station

Shinjuku Station
Reserve with OpenTable
Shinjuku Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #227 of 1,572 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Shinjuku Station is an izakaya style restaurant that serves traditional small plates - perfect for sharing. Located in the Near Southside of Fort Worth on Magnolia Avenue, friends and family are welcome to come in and unwind with good food, good drinks, and great hospitality. Shinjuku Station offers indoor and outdoor dining, a delicious menu, and a full bar which includes hand-crafted cocktails and an extensive sake list. It's just one example of how we strive to provide you with the very best-and a bit of the unexpected. The design inspiration for the restaurant is based on an actual train station in Tokyo, Japan. The world's busiest train stop, Shinjuku Station transports more than two million passengers on a daily basis. It is also a main connecting hub for railway and subway lines, and is one of Tokyo's major stops for long-distance highway buses and city buses. Offering something for everyone, the Shinjuku district in Tokyo is filled with entertainment, business, and shopping. To help recreate the spirited exuberance that thrives within this region, photojournalistic photography of Tokyo and its people is proudly displayed throughout our restaurant. Being 8,800 miles away, we want to bring Tokyo, Japan to you.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience - the food and staff are excellent”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was my second trip to this restaurant and it was as wonderful as the first. The waitstaff is knowledgeable about the menu and professional in their delivery. The menu (Japanese tapas) is unique, interesting and very nicely done. Favorite dishes include the roasted peppers, the Japanese "pizza" and the chicken karaage is fabulous! The tempura pumpkin is a favorite, as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxiestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shinjuku Station has some of the best food Fort Worth offers.”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

If the quality of food at a restaurant is determined by how long you think about the meal afterwards, Shinjuku Station is at the top of my list. The only problem with the gorgeous fat mussels with yuzu butter is that there is no bread to dip into the broth. When I asked for a spoon, the waiter suggested pouring the liquid over rice. It was 'Oh my gosh delicious!' And the quality of the rice was the best I've every tasted. Edamame stir-fried and sprinkled with a Japanese pepper blend were addictive. Thinly sliced wagyu beef with Chinese broccoli and mushrooms satisfied this carnivore big time. To bring more smiles, the wine by the glass list is unique.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank reniesteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local Review”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Tried this place last week for the 1st tme with my wife.
The menu is slightly confusing (heard other commenting as well).
We got the two pre-packaged bento boxes cooked and uncooked.
The food was just not very impressive taste wise.
The best thing we had was the seaweed salad which we sub'ed for...
Wished they had more variety of non-fish rolls.

The atmosphere is very nice but we will not be back, too many other local options out there we enjoy more.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I won't be back. tokyo (other sushi spot/same owner) is MUCH better.”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

2 friends and I went to this restaurant on saturday night. there was supposed to be an art festival going on in the neighborhood, but it pretty much got rained out. when we arrived at ss, it was packed. there was a 45 minute wait. we put our names on the list, and came back in 45 minutes, and of course we still didnt have a table. we needed to use the restroom, (which there is only one toilet, and it's unisex) so we waited for it to open up. we waited at least 10 minutes, even tho first in line.. the guy that came out was one of the chefs (in chefs uniform), and he had just taken a massive dump, bc the bathroom reaked sooo bad when he walked out). about 45 min later (so 1 1/2 hr wait total), we were finally offered to sit at the bar. there were 3 of us, and we were offered 2 stools, to share. seriously!? we sat there long enough to place our orders (by this time it was NOT packed at all), and then requested an actual tabel, since we had been waiting almost 2 hours at this point. when we sat, they brought us each a small sake, for our troubles. that was nice.. really tho, our whole meals should have been comped, by this point. this restaurant doesnt have normal american sushi that we were used to. no phily rolls, cali rolls, dragon, cajun, etc. there were like 6 choices, none which used cream cheese, avacado or anything like that. i was okay with that.. i like many different kinds of sushi, americanized or no, but it would have been nice to have more options. we ordered tempura and edamame for apps, and then each ordered a roll, and one girl ordered some mushrooms. the tempura came first. it was good.. the edamame NEVER even came.. the waiter said, "this stuff is gonna be coming out in a weird order, just by how they get it done. sorry.." next, our rolls came out. i had specified atleast 3 times that i was allergic to onions.. asked about each roll, and which ones had NO onions.. my roll of course came out covered in onions. the waiter didn;t take it back, or comp it, he just said 'oh sorry.. it usually doesn;t come with onions on it." so i scraped all the onions off myself. the roll was okay. nothing great about it.. and it was considered the "chef special." the sushi was fresh, but definitely not one of my favorite rolls ive tried. my friend's roll was pretty good tho. it had grape in it.. can't remember the name of it. when the rolls arrived, i told him to just delete our edamame order, since it never came out. most restaurants with good service would have apologized, and brought it out complimentary. but no.. he just turned around and said, "cancel edamame!" to the chefs in the back. lastly, her musrooms came out (which should have come out before the rolls). she said they were good.. no desert. we were ready to GTFO of there. i am not one that expects free stuff, bc i am a foodie, and willing to pay the price for the quality, no doubt. but this was just absolutely ridiculous. i am an avid sushi lover/eater, and i live in the neighborhood (almost walking distance), but i wont be back to this place. EVER. there are 2 other sushi places on the same street, which have better service, so they will be getting my business frequently. the owner of this place also owns tokyo cafe, which is my favorite sushi place in dfw. i can't believe he is even associated with this place. absolutely terrible service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SboomFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and Awesome Atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have been to Shinjuku several times and find myself even more impressed each time I go. The food is great and it has a really good atmosphere if you are looking to grab a few drinks as well. The wait staff and owners really make this a great place to eat and have a nice night out. What's even better is that you can go and feel like you are in NYC but not pay the price for it. I recommend this restaurant for anyone and any age. Great place!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen3784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinjuku Station also viewed

Fort Worth, TX
Fort Worth, TX
 

Been to Shinjuku Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing