We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Food, Schmoozy Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellerbe Fine Foods

Ellerbe Fine Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Ellerbe Fine Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 1,493 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food, Schmoozy Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yes, we did enjoy our visit to Ellerbes, particularly the ambiance of the dining room. However, two of us were disappointed that what we wanted to order (2 of 8 entrees on the menu) was not available that evening, when we had an 8:00 reservation. A bigger problem was the schmooziness of the waiter. We had come to visit with each other, not him, and the amount of touching he gave my husband's shoulder was really quite excessive.

If you are interested in a vegetarian meal, ask what they have available. There was nothing listed on the menu, but they prepared an excellent dish on request.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    25
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have always enjoyed dining at Ellerbe's. We especially like to join a couple for some great food and service. We dined at Ellerbe's in September and were disappointed in the menu and the quality of the food. As usual, the service was terrific. This past weekend we decided to try again. All four of us left feeling less than satisfied. There were no entrees that any of us were interested in ordering, so we ordered appetizers and side dishes. The pickled shrimp and seafood gratin were wonderful, but the rest of our meal was certainly not worth what we paid. It appears that the owner and chef have decided that offering a menu that is out of the norm makes it worth the high prices charged. It will be a while before any of us return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Molly McCook is one of Fort Worth's finest chefs, insisting on only quality, fresh foods and turning them into beautifully presented, tasty meals. Try out Ellerbe if you haven't and make sure you save room for the unusual and exquisite bread pudding (even those who don't like bread pudding will be wonderfully surprised by this dish).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Fort Worth fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you're visitor you are not going to find a much better non chain place. It is so good in fact, you might think you are on one of the coasts. This food is better than the service, and the service has always been darn good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very posh yet down home lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

If you want the perfect amount of class with a hint of down home flair, then this is the place for you. I ate there for lunch with two friends and had a really nice meal. The waitstaff was knowledgable and the food is all locally sourced. This is a nice place for a special occasion but I can't see going there too often. The homemade chocolate ice cream was worth the trip!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dreaming*of*a*beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellerbe Fine Foods also viewed

 

Been to Ellerbe Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing