We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little museum with a lot inside”

Texas Civil War Museum
Ranked #13 of 153 things to do in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice little museum with a lot inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was shocked at how muck this little museum had. Tons of items and all very well set up. I did not feel I wasted my time or money. B sure to see the video at the beginning. It helps set the tone. Take the time, see this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdshipma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    72
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Rainy Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very interesting place! The owners are very sweet and helpful. They have a small theater that shows a short film about Texas' role in the war. There's so much to look at. Definitely a fun time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alyssalynn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting History Before Your Eyes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took my kids here because they both enjoy history & because it looked/sounded interesting. It was! They have just opened up a new hall, the Artillery Hall. The museum is VERY neatly organized & VERY detailed as to who once owned the items (provided they can get that info) and displayed in an interesting-to-look-at manner. Even if you're not "big" on the Civil War, it's a treat to learn and especially see actual items/property. The folks at the Admission/Gift Shop desk were very helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Professional enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place was quite a surprise owned by a civil war buff I believe but amazing displays of civil war memorabilia from both sides . If you have any interest at all in the war between the states you will really like this place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texan790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“War and dresses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We rented a car for the day to get to the Bureau of Engraving and the civil war museum. I'm so glad we did not miss either one. The museum has the north on one side and the south on the other. The pieces displayed have notations of who wore them, what happened to them, etc. Made this so personal. Docents were dressed and had a touching table. The topping of it all was the best collection of Victorian dresses I have ever seen. They were in amazing condition. My friend thought the best part (besides the dresses) was seeing the coat General Grant wore when General Lee surrendered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Texas Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing