We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic honky Texas honky tonk”

White Elephant Saloon
Ranked #4 of 75 Nightlife in Fort Worth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bar in Fort Worth used as the prototype for CD's, the bar in the Chuck Norris TV series, Walker-Texas Ranger.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic honky Texas honky tonk”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Loads of fun. Very interesting decor/venue. Bartenders are a hoot. Live music. Feels like you stepped back in time. Did I say Fun? Good value for a night out or an afternoon thirst quencher!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeceAndCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Funky”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Only stopped in for a few cocktails with friends on a Saturday night ($6 cover). Live music was very good, atmosphere is great if you like country, and the drink prices were reasonable. Pretty good how the bar incorporates the history of the place into the decor. Nice place and I learned a few things while drinking a few beers. Haha. Fun place, probably my favorite while visiting the Ft. Worth / Stockyards area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,031 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Good place for some music and drinks. Great collection of carved white elephants and old hats”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here with my family on a very hot summer day, knowing nothing about the place in advance. It is a very typical looking old saloon with a great bar and lots of seating to hear the live music playing on their stage. The ceiling is covered with hats of famous guests and there is an amazing collection of carved white elephants in the display case. We went to Fort Worth to show my son's girlfriend some "typical" western/cowboy sights, as it was her first visit to Texas - this place did not disappoint.

I cannot comment on the food, as we didn't order any. The music was good, the ambiance great, and our beers cold. I would take visiting guests here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Texas Bar with LOADS of history, good music, and of course the hats!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't want to ruin the fun for any of you, but there are hundreds of hats from famous people from all walks of life that are place on plaques all around the walls of the White Elephant. THAT alone is worth going to. It's a great bar, with loads of beer on tap, and they are also owned by the same company that owns Love Shack Burgers, so while you're enjoying some great live music, you can also get a killer burger. The other thing I like about this place is that people come here and drink and have a good time, not come here, drink and get absolutely ugly-trashed, which makes it a fun atmosphere all around. Wait staff was super nice too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willmuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Well worth popping in if you're passing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had 20 minutes to kill while waiting for the twice daily cattle drive so after seeing the sign proclaiming this as one of the top 100 bars in the US I popped in for a swift one.
I was glad I did. A great atmosphere, even at 4pm on a Tuesday, was matched by a great choice of beers and cocktails.
The clientelle varied from tourists like me to regulars who look like they haven't moved in years.
Go and experience it and get a crick in your neck looking at the cowboy hats high upon the wall.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant Saloon also viewed

 

Been to White Elephant Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing