We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in town looking for a place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferre Fort Worth - CLOSED

Ferre Fort Worth
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Fort Worth
Cross street: Calhoun
San Antonio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First night in town looking for a place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was Wednesday night and we were looking for a place for a light meal. Looking through Open Table and checking menus, we selected Ferre’. It turned out to be a good choice. The Margherita pizza and lime tart my wife and I shared were delicious and filling. Their wait staff is very attentive and checked with us regularly to see if everything was to our satisfaction.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
271 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“I Wouldn't Eat There Before A Show Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We opted to try this restaurant because it was directly across from Bass Hall. The exterior is very unassuming and I’d never noticed it there before even though I go to performances across the street pretty frequently. We arrived well before the time the performance was to start. In fact, we arrived even earlier than we usually do when we eat at other places in the area. Still, we almost missed the performance.

When we arrived, we were seated right away, but then left to ourselves. It was quite a while before someone came over to get our drink orders. After that, there were unacceptably long intervals of time between each instance of seeing our server. There were times where he’d walk right by us and we were unable to get his attention. Our drinks were never refilled. When we were ready to leave, he was nowhere in sight. We started to worry about whether we’d get to the show before they closed the doors. Eventually, we left, leaving one of us behind to try to get someone’s attention and pay for all of us. He arrived at Bass after us, just minutes before the doors were closed and the show started. I have never eaten anywhere else in Sundance Square where I’ve come this close to missing a performance.

Our food was acceptable, but nothing all that special. I ordered what was listed on the menu as a margherita pizza, even though it really wasn’t. They use sauce instead of fresh tomatoes, so it’s not a traditional margherita. Still, I’d been craving a pizza with basil, so that’s what I ordered. The sauce didn’t have much flavor to it. The mozzarella appeared to be freshly-made, which was good. The crust was thin and crisp, slightly burned on the edges as you’d expect in a brick oven. It didn’t have much flavor, though. Overall, it was a disappointing pizza. Others in the group had the Chilean sea bass and the buscatini with meatballs. We all agreed that the food was just okay, but nothing to rave about.

I would have expected much more in terms of service and food quality given the prices. Overall, I’d say neither the food nor the service match the price point, and I certainly wouldn’t eat there again before a show.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfie_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great waiter, nice view, but expensive wine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had the sea bass with a spinach & rice mix. Food was pretty good, fish was cooked perfectly but could have used a bit more flavor. Waiter was funny and very pleasant. Only complaint was that the wine is way overpriced. If they would lower wine prices 33% they would be on par with other restaurants and then I'd want to come here often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a great dinner at Ferre. The staff, especially Mike, went above and beyond with our dinner. Provided great drink and dinner recommendations and was very attentive and personably throughout our meal.

The chicken I had was great and I'd definitely come back just for that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJ870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, good drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Located adjacent to Bass Hall it was a perfect cocktails prior to attending the Cliburn. Can't comment on the food but the martinis were excellent as were the wines. Drink prices are in upper side of average. Excellent service. Looking forward to returning for dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69jwjw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferre Fort Worth also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing