We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Stay”
Review of Etta's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Etta's Place
Ranked #5 of 16 Fort Worth B&B and Inns
Ft. Worth, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We fell in love with Etta's from the moment we arrived. Our first time staying here but already we have decided to make it our getaway locale. We stayed in the Sundance Suite which was very large and well appointed. The bed was super comfy and made for a great night's sleep. Breakfast was French Toast with fresh berries and maple syrup and two(2) sausage patties. Coffee and fresh orange juice were also served. There were numerous courtyards which unfortunately we did not have time to use as well as a library and sitting room with a piano.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a view make sure you stiplulate when calling for availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuracer2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    19
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
47
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was pretty amped to stay at Etta's, especially after reading the other reviewer's experiences. My husband and I lived in Ft. Worth for several years but never stayed downtown so when we came back to attend a wedding rehearsal dinner at Reata's right next door, it seemed like a prime opportunity, but we were extremely let down. We got to the hotel at 7:45pm, after a minor flight delay, and despite getting their before their proposed closing time, there was no staff to help us, just a small sign that said go to an apartment building (I cannot remember the name, but the name was listed on the small sheet of paper) to pick up our keys. I walked all the way around the block and didn't see the named apartment building, it wasn't until I asked someone who was walking into a nearby building if they knew where the place was, and they said it was through the double doors, but there was NO MARKING OR NAME ANYWHERE, very frustrating. Also there was no mention on my confirmation email that there would be an alternate location we would need to go to get our keys - and we were given minimal direction on where to park, luckily we knew the area well enough to know where to go. Demerit #1 and #2. We got to our room (Ben's room) which was fine, just as pictured, actually a little bigger than I expected. It was clean, and had a large walk in closet with robes. Bathroom was large, fully stocked with amenities, which was nice. There was also bottled water waiting for us, which I liked. The bed was very comfortable, the most redeeming quality of the stay for sure. We found the room to be quiet too, and were not bothered by any street noise. So that was all good. There was someone smoking what smelled like illicit drugs down the hall, so that was not cool, but luckily didn't permeate into our room. Because we had no human contact with any staff when we checked in we had to search the room for info on what time and where breakfast was, which was provided in a tableside guide (not in our check in paper, which I found odd as well, since it is advertised as a B&B). We got to breakfast and there were a couple muffins and coffee available, and ran into a woman who asked us if we wanted hot food, which we did. She was nice enough, saying good morning but that was all, she didn't introduce herself, didn't talk to us at all, didn't ask us how our night was...nothing. Very odd. We waited about 15 minutes for our meal, which was fine, we were munching on muffins and coffee and orangejuice. The breakfast was Mexican eggs (a sort of casserole) served cold, with a side of sausage and English muffin, with no butter or jam. Seriously?? Cold breakfast and no condiments?? The lady disappeared and we didn't see her for more than 20 minutes - so unfortunately the couple that came in after us had to wait for a long time to get their food, infact, we finished eating and grabbed seconds on coffee and they still hadn't gotten anything yet. We packed up and went to check out, but still no one was to be seen anywhere. There was another small note that said to leave the keys at the front desk, so we did. So basically we had the opposite of a B&B experience, with zero human interaction and a mediocre breakfast. The location is great to be sure, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean, so it is not a total loss, but they definitely need to work on their B&B skills and customer interaction. To be honest though I would not bother going back, it wasn't worth the price, and wasn't worth the falsified B&B title.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobeTrottingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I often prefer a small boutique hotel to larger chain. Etta's Place live up to it's reputation in the reviews. The room was quaint, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to help with questions. The complimentary breakfast was home cooked and just wonderful. I would certainly stay again as the location is convenient and the price is within budget as a business travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennybrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at Etta's Place. We reserved a suite and 4 rooms for the family and things went so very well. My mother stayed in the barrier-free room on the main floor while the rest of us were upstairs. The kitchenette in our suite had been replaced with a desk and small fridge, microwave and sink -- all we needed and much better use of space than a full kitchen (I don't go to a B&B to cook for myself). Having a central location in the suite was perfect for our family celebrations. Mona and her staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating.

Since our last stay in October 2012, the breakfast room was moved to a larger room with three large round tables (from the smaller room just off the kitchen with small 2- and 4- person tables). The new configuration may work for Reata's (the great restaurant next door), but doesn't work so well for the staff or guests in the mornings. Staff can't monitor the breakfast area as well, and, I'm sorry, but I don't particularly want to make conversation with strangers before I've had my second cup of coffee. The original breakfast room is still there and I recommend it be returned to it's original function and save the bigger room for Reata spill-over events.

Things to know: (1) The B&B is in downtown Fort Worth in an area with multiple restaurants and bars, so it's not as quiet as a place in the country, but great if you want to be downtown; (2) parking is included, but is in a parking structure in the next block; (3) it is a B&B, not a hotel, so there's not on-site staff available 24/7.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with noise, you may want to call rather then just book on line and talk about w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy_Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband & I decided to use Fort Worth as a stopover from Australia to Louisville, Kentucky and we were glad that we did. We choose Etta's from the reviews from tripadvisor and we very pleased that we stayed here. We were warmly greeted by Britany, who made it her mission that we had an enjoyable stay and helped us with transportation as we did not have a car. We stayed in the Kids room no. 102, which fronted 3rd st onto the construction site across the road. Yes, there was noise but it started at 7am and did not really interfere with our sleep patterns. Each morning we were greeted by the beautiful southern hospitality and had a wonderful homemade breakfast. Our room was beautifully decorated in an antique style that had a very high bed (could be difficult to climb up onto if elderly or have difficulty in stepping up). There are plenty of other areas on the property to find a spot to relax if you do not wish to remain in your room. The property offers a couple of lovely courtyard areas, a music room with baby grand piano, a coffee nook as well as a well stocked up library. We found the property close to some very restaurants - all within walking distance. Reata's next door is an upscale restaurant with great food but expensive wines but recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Etta's place is becoming a yearly tradition for my husband and I. My inlaws got us a room there the weekend after our wedding. We live in Dallas, so Fort Worth is a great weekend getaway. We loved our first stay at Etta's so much we returned for our anniversary the next year.

Etta's is great since it is a cozy B&B with homey, comfortable rooms that is actually located right down town on Sundance Square. It's a great place to stay if you don't have a car with you or want to do a lot of driving, but you still want the kind of atmosphere of a B&B. It's located right next door to Reata's, a fantastic upscale Texan restaurant, and there is a lot to do in the area. We have stayed in two different rooms; both were very comfortable. One room was Laura's Lounge, which was large and comfortable with a nice view of the square and a beautiful claw foot tub. The other was the attic honeymoon suite, which was huge and had a kitchenette and a giant jacuzzi tub with shuttered doors that opened to the rest of the room. It was perfect for a romantic weekend, the only downside there was that it did not have a great view.

Etta's offers a different hot breakfast each morning, with great food and presentation (my favorite were breakfast "angels" with pita bread wings, skirts made from green poblano grits, and sausage faces) and everything is fresh and made to order. We'll probably be there again this year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
1,365 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved the concept of Etta's Place, a bed and breakfast near Sundance Square in Ft. Worth, TX, but it was not the experience we were hoping for completely. The staff was very friendly, and our room was very large with windows on two walls overlooking downtown Ft. Worth under construction. The Internet is a must for my husband who works every day from his laptop. It was not good at all. I realize that is not important for all visitors to a B&B however. Breakfast the first day was full of raw peppers in grits and eggs. The breakfast was an array of house made breads and muffins, cereals, and yogurt followed by the pepper eggs one day and French toast strata the next, which was yummy. We stay in MANY B&Bs throughout the year, and this place didn't have any special touches we enjoy like coffee we don't have to make, drinks, snacks and good Internet. It was decorated very nicely, but there is a lot of wasted space. We felt like we were in a hotel more than a B&B. there was no one at the front desk except the day we got there. We never saw anyone all weekend. All in all, I would rather stay at the downtown Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#7 of 111 in Fort Worth
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
The Ashton Hotel
The Ashton Hotel
#12 of 111 in Fort Worth
371 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#11 of 111 in Fort Worth
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etta's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etta's Place

Property: Etta's Place
Address: 200 W 3rd St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-7403
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth > Downtown Fort Worth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Etta's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etta's Place is a 10 bedroom bed and breakfast inn located in downtown Fort Worth's infamous Sundance Square. Within walking distance of numerous restaurants, shops and night clubs, Etta's Place offers modern-day trailblazers a hospitable place to cool your heels and enjoy Cowtown's gathering place for entertainment. The namesake of the Sundance Kid's enigmatic Texas girlfriend, Etta's Place provides a hideout even the Wild Bunch would be proud of - in the heart of the action yet hidden away with views of Sundance Square for quick getaways. This residential-style inn captures the feel of a southern home and a prestigious private club catering to travelers preferring personal service, privacy, well-appointed accommodations and the best location in Fort Worth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Etta's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etta`s Place Hotel Fort Worth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing