We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hattie May Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hattie May Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Fort Worth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
328 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The best thing about this B& B is the friendliest and helpfulness of the inn keeper. The house is very nice but could do with some work. We stayed in the Oriental room which was probably the weakest of the rooms available and I would suggest choosing one of the others as it is extremely small and the bathroom is not brilliant. The wine, free sodas and chocolate covered strawberries was a nice touch but personally i would have preferred better tea and coffee making facilities being available. There was never any milk in the fridge and the coffee pot hadn't been washed out from the previous use! We also didn't rate the location as is not in the best part of town and a 15 min drive from downtown/.stockyards. In saying that it was a nice experience as our four star rating illustrates but this was mainly because of the host and convivial atmosphere at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
18
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
340 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As a celebration, my adult daughter and I spent the night @ this beautifully restored home. The owner lives on the property and has done most of the restoration herself. She tells wonderful stories and is very nice. Her cat is friendly and the stay was most pleasant. The breakfast pancakes were good and unique though the rest of the breakfast was not anything special. If you are really picky about EVERY little detail, you might not like the dust that was lining the bathroom in the room in which we stayed- the daughter's room. Staying in August, upstairs, the room was hot when we arrived, but cooled down by the time we slept.But other than that, the stay was nice and I would consider going back.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw were very nice. If you go to the website, the owner has very good pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had tried for months to find time to reserve our stay at the Hattie May Inn (work, babysitters, etc). We're so glad we finally did. The home is beautiful, with all of the creaks and sounds of an awesome antique house. We took full advantage of our stay by checking in and immediately taking a nap! Then we spent time exploring the house and the grounds, and meeting our new best friend Fred (the cat). We headed to downtown Fort Worth for dinner, then returned to our room for a movie and checkers. Although all four rooms were occupied, we never heard any of the other guests. You didn't have to set your alarm clock because the smell of breakfast woke you up, and breakfast was great! We're not really chatty people, but once we were at breakfast with the other guests the atmosphere was so much like family that we all had a great time talking and sharing stories. Don't forget to ask Linda about the gun fight that happened right there at the house. Next time we will be staying more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Overall we had a decent experience but definitely not above average for a B&B. We stayed here in March and had used a Groupon. The wine and chocolate-covered strawberries that came with the package were both tasty. However, our room had a lot of street noise that made it hard for me to sleep, and in the morning the shades did not take care of the outside light at all. We were in the Blue Willow room. This room adjoins another room, and we could hear the people in the other room some. Luckily they weren't too noisy but I could see it being a problem depending on who was staying in that other room! Also, and this hopefully is not most people's experience, we had to wait 45 minutes on the porch when we arrived for the owner to get there. Not what we wanted to spend our afternoon doing, especially when we were only going to be in Fort Worth for 1 night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabbytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband & I stayed here 5/19 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is a beautiful home. Linda met us at the door & showed us to our room & pointed out some of the history, which was very interesting. She also told us about the Google Arts that was going on that day. We were able to walk to it & it was really lots of fun, made for a great evening. The next a.m. she prepared the yummiest breakfast, carrot cake waffles!!!!!!!!! Once she had served us all she sat down & joined us in the conversation which was nice. She truly makes you feel welcome! We stayed in the Americana Room which has a screened in porch that was especially nice. We had brought our "to go" dinner & sat on the porch & dined! Lots of fun! We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

What a wonderful weekend we had! We went with another couple and it was superb. The old home brought back old memories of our families when we were kids. The home is beautiful and well appointed. The location was great for getting to botannical gardens, downtown, shopping, and the museums, I loved the big front porch and the warmth of the
house. Wonderful breakfast! Linda, the owner, was a wonderful host and certainly extended
"southern hospitality" to us. She was warm and a wealth of information.
We will definitely go back again, even if it is only 25 miles from home.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seemed larger but all were more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abq n.m.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We met several couples at the Hattie May for a reunion weekend this spring. The hostess was most accommodating and the public rooms and front porch were great for four couples to sit and visit. The bedrooms were comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was great. We loved being there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#5 of 107 in Fort Worth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,548 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Worth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
The Ashton Hotel
The Ashton Hotel
#16 of 107 in Fort Worth
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hattie May Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hattie May Inn

Property: Hattie May Inn
Address: 712 May St, Fort Worth, TX 76104-3231
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Worth
Hotel Class:3 star — Hattie May Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing