We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street Noise was unbearable- no sleep possible”
Review of Stockyards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stockyards Hotel
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Street Noise was unbearable- no sleep possible”
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I had no idea, when I registered, that the street side rooms ( there are 10 of them ) are so noisey. I complained when I was checking out and that is when they told me "Yes, we've had some complaints about noise in those rooms" Too bad, so sad - I will not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CosyLubbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    104
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
54
158
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The Stockyards District is a total tourist trap but as long as you go expecting that, it should be ok. If anything I didn't think this place was cheesy enough - we got put in a Victorian room, which had no Wild West aspect at all - it was like an old fashioned English seaside B & B. I thought it was overpriced for the room. We stayed on a Thursday so no revelers to wake us up but building is old and creaky and you hear every toilet flush! Pluses - Very atmospheric bar, definitely worth a visit. It's clean, and the staff are great. Very handy for exploring the tourist trappery outside and the Visitor Centre is very helpful and friendly with info on surrounding area. Eat at Rischy's BBQ not the steakhouse - cheaper and more fun.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We had a room on the street which was good. The location is brilliant if you want to visit the Stockyards area. There are lots of good bars in easy walking distance. There is efficient valet parking . A couple of warnings... in our room there was a really dangerous step between the bedroom area and the bathroom which could easily be missed. and we needed internet access to confirm our flights and weren't aware of any provision for this. The restaurant attached to the hotel is good and we had some great food and drinks. As a word of note for European travellers, nothing opens in this area until 10 a.m. so there can be a lot of waiting around if you are wide awake with jet lag.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Just returned from our stay at The Stockyards Hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it!
The history of the place was absolutely enchanting, including the wavy 101 year old floors. Decor was charming.

The room was very spacious, pretty, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The housekeeper was very gracious as i had to switch out the down pillows for poly fill after 6 :00 p.m. she also gave me extra coffee for the a.m. since I had brewed the one in the basket on the counter. We did not purchase anything from the "snack basket" ( like a mini, mini bar), but it was reasonably priced, and had cute souvenirs.
There is also a nice little patio/deck out back, with steps down to a sidewalk by a stream. Sweet.

Only negatives: Our room had a window, but it looked onto an interior hallway. Didn't love that.
We were there on 1/1, and the restaurant was closed. I know a lot of people close Jan 1., but usually a hotel restaurant does not.
HOWEVER, the next morning, they did serve breakfast, and not only was the dining room lovely, but the breakfast was outstanding. We had pancakes, whick they called Flapjacks, that were absolutely the BEST pancakes I have EVER had.

The staff was outstanding. We were travelling by car from a hunting trip in Central TX, and had a huge cooler full of frozen venison, and they graciously stored it in their walk-in while we were in the hotel.

Perfect location. Great stay.

  • Liked — location; historical charm; comfort
  • Disliked — interior window; restaurant hours
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhlkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

My partner and I went to Fort Worth to see Loretta Lynn at Billy Bob's Texas and stayed in the Bonnie and Clyde suite. We had wanted to stay in this suite in particular for a long time,but it was booked everytime we tried to get it. It was so worth the wait. We are both Texas boys and love all things Texas. The Bonnie and Clyde articles and artifacts are really something. At night,when you close the shutters on the windows,the knotholes look like bullet holes,making little circles all over the room,so fun!
Our stay started with our drive up,of course. The nice young man took our bags immediately up to the room and told us a little of the history. The room over looks the whole stockyards,great third floor view,which Clyde liked watching for the "fuzz". The staff was all very nice and helpful. It is within walking distance of everything in the stockyards,including Billy Bob's. Loretta Lynn was great.
The hotel and stockyards are cowboy heaven. I enjoyed my breakfast so much more because I got to eat it sitting on a real saddle at Booger Red's Bar.
This is a really fun and elegant hotel,very old fashioned with all the modern ammeneties.We really loved it.

  • Liked — The cool cowboy look,really nice staff
  • Disliked — it rained,lol
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mth48
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately greeted by the valet. We walked in and were warmly greeted by the desk clerk. The hotel was beautiful, and our room was large, and comfortable. We loved the decor. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the restaurant that is connected with the hotel. The hotel was excellent! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mth48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany. NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I was proposed to right outside this hotel! It holds a special place in my heart. My fiance booked one of their packages direct with the hotel and we ate next door at H3...we stayed in a fantastic room but ...make sure you open all the doors in your room! We stayed in a room and didn't realize it had a second room attached until we checked out. Guess we were too excited about getting engaged! The hotel manager Reuben, I think, is so wonderful. The hotel is really unique and you cannot get a better location. Great beds, neat bathroom. Really love this hotel! Plan to stay there again when we get married in March in Fort Worth :)

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jillybeansxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#6 of 111 in Fort Worth
3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
The Ashton Hotel
The Ashton Hotel
#11 of 111 in Fort Worth
364 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#12 of 111 in Fort Worth
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockyards Hotel

Property: Stockyards Hotel
Address: 109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76164-8211
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
#28 Family Hotel in Fort Worth
#30 Business Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stockyards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic site, it has been a home away from home for rich cattle barons, country-music stars, and even an outlaw or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stockyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockyards Hotel Fort Worth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing