We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Worth Zoo

Fort Worth Zoo
1989 Colonial Parkway, Fort Worth, TX 76110
817 759 7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 things to do in Fort Worth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City zoo that presents animal habitats as they exist in the world.
Watauga, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been here three time and every time I find something new. The exhibits are awesome. My favorite place was the reptile house very well set up and displayed. I am looking forward to my next visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Butch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boise
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ever zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very attractive and humane enclosures for the animals. Unique animals, pleasant walkways, trees and restaurants. Worth a half day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenBoise_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“would go every week if we could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

we love this zoo. it is easy enough to get around that you could spend all day or just an hour there hitting the big attractions like Elephants, baby Rhinos & Lions. it can be crowded during the weekends and super hot during the summer. but its Texas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Much worth the trip to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

For the cost of entry, this zoo is well worth it. I would advise that parking is at an additional cost. It would be nice to see parking fee as an option online. The exhibits were exceptional. I have visisted the san antonio zoo, the bronx zoo, san antonio zoo and the houston zoo. This zoo ranks amongst the best. The animals looked very healthy. The staff was very helpful. The zoo was clean and did not smell bad. The exhibits were constructed to resemble the natural habitats, which is a plus. At the rear of the zoo there is a small atraction which resembles the wild west, which in itself could have been an attaraction. Reminded me of wild west city, pennsylvania. I would definitely recommend this place to my family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank LilMonkeysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Place to Take the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Fort Worth Zoo has a nice variation of animals, including an area for Texas species. It is laid out well, but you do have to backtrack to see all the exhibits. Be prepared to do a lot of walking, so I suggest wearing comfortable shoes. Food and drink prices are pricey like all similar attractions, but you can bring in your own meal. The zoo has made some improvements, so if you have not visited in a while you will find some new exhibits. Definitely go to the MOLA, which is an area for reptiles, fish, and amphibians. If you have kids, take them to the parakeet area to feed the birds. Seed sticks cost a dollar a piece. You will get great pictures! I suggest working your way from the entrance to the area called, "Texas Wild!" then taking the train back. It will let your tired feet rest and the kids will like going on the ride.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Worth Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing