We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center
Ranked #59 of 107 Hotels in Fort Worth
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location if you are visiting the TCU, botanical garden, zoo, or Colonial Country Club area of Fort Worth. While the hotel is older and resembles an apartment complex more than a hotel, it is exceptionally clean and well kept. I had an upstairs room at the back of the property overlooking the river and a green space - very scenic and quiet. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. As in most Residence Inns, the happy hour and breakfast are hard to beat. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Fort Worth.

Room Tip: A room further away from University wil be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruffus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    109
    71
    49
See reviews for
212
43
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice clean , roomy , had a nice view of the river. Staff was excellent and caring!!! Loved the complimentary happy hour with food and beer and wine was not expecting that!! Would highly recommend to anyone passing thru. Laundry facilities were clean and a must have for traveling across the country.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moejoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We checked in late at night and were quickly and cheerfully sent to our rooms. Our rooms were clean and quiet. We had requested a downstairs room, so we didn't have a view, but that was fine. The bed was wonderful and the thermostat kept us comfortable with112 degree temps outside. There is a Kroger down the street and we enjoyed making a grocery run and using the kitchen instead of eating out. However there are ample choices in the area for eating out. We went to the Kimbell Art Museum for Sunday brunch which was delightful. It is less than a mile from the hotel and lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at the Residence Inn (University Drive) in Ft. Worth for almost 2 months. The staff were always helpful and personable. The cleaning services were spot on. The nearby facilities were generally delightful including the 20 mile jogging path that ran along the river; it was 20 feet from my window.

In many ways it reminded of the East River Drive in Philadelphia.

This Residence Inn is about 2 miles from the botanical gardens, museums, and high-end stores.
If you want reservations, give yourself considerable lead time as they are often full.

Ft. Worth really exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask the desk staff. They will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great location especially if you're a runner or taking in the cultural side of Ft. Worth. The WoodShed, a bbq joint and coffee bar with abt 20beers on tap, is a few mins walk and right on the Trinity River. The rooms at this place though are old, dark and oddly laid out. The beds are not especially comfortable. It's convenient to TCU. I would likely not stay here again unless I was told to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereYouGoAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is not the most elegant Residence Inn you will find- the building is older and yes, a little dark, but there are plenty of amenities: a nice workout facility, lovely pool, a great cafe/bar that was always bustling when I was there, and direct access to the river. It is also just a few minutes walk from great shopping and restaurants, and is quite close to TCU. The biggest problem with the hotel was noise from the railroad. It didn't bother me too much, but my husband had trouble sleeping. The trains are noisy. The staff was pleasant and the facilities clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night and was fairly disappointed. The property is soooo old. It looks more like an apartment complex than a hotel. We reserved the 2 bedroom for 4 people. Our room was located in building 6 on the second floor, facing the river. When you walk in, the whole place is just dark and depressing. The lighting is terrible and there are very few tiny windows to allow for any natural light. There is a living space to the right and kitchen to the left. The furniture is super old and very worn and dirty, as was the carpet. The appliances in the kitchen are very old...thankfully we didn't need to use them. Just on the other side of the living space was a bedroom with a king bed, tv, desk, closet and bathroom blocked off from the living space with curtained french doors. The room was a decent size. Linens on the bed were nice, but the mattress was rather firm, and furniture, lamps and clock radio extremely outdated. Bathroom was a decent size...small vanity and tub/shower combo. The shower head was awful...teeny tiny with only 4 water spouts...when I turned on the water, the pipes were loud enough to wake the dead...I thought it was going to bust out of the wall! Again, everything was outdated in the bathroom, but I can say that at least it was clean. Towels were old and rough. The second "bedroom" is located up a flight of stairs in a loft. There was a queen bed, tv and another bathroom. Pretty much the same as the other bedroom...outdated and depressing with very loud water pipes in the shower. Every time someone got up to use the restroom or come downstairs, the floors cracked and creaked horribly! One thing I missed having was the use of an in-room safe...I think I read that there were safes at the front desk, but that's such a hassle. They should be in the room.

Should I return to the Fort Worth area in the future, I would most certainly choose another hotel to stay at. I'm pretty surprised this was a Marriott, as I've always had much better experiences at other Marriott properties. The entire property needs a seriousl remodel...or a complete rebuild!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cripey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fort Worth University Drive
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Worth University Drive
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fort Worth University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Worth - Medical Center
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Worth Medical Center
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Worth Cultural District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center
Address: 1701 South University Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76107 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 107 Hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from TCU, the Fort Worth Zoo and the fun and excitement of The Stockyards, our hotel puts guests in an excellent location for enjoying Fort Worth, Texas. Guests can take advantage of our spacious extended stay suites featuring fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast, and after a long day relax in our outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza Hotel Fort Worth
Fort Worth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing