We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exciting place to be, even in the morning”

Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.00*
and up
Billy Bob's Texas Honky Tonk
Ranked #3 of 153 things to do in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to cowboys in addition to historic hotels and western-style shopping.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Exciting place to be, even in the morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice buildings and setting. Stockyards easy to access. Lots of longhorns in the pens, along the road for those who wanted to sit on one, and in a twice-daily "round-up". Very friendly and authentic-looking cowboys. Fun place to be at any age. I can only imagine how vibrant it must be in the evening and on weekends.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,110
    1,189
    314
    60
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you are in the area, be sure to visit the Fort Worth Stockyards. Neat little stores and so many things to see like the cattle run, cowboy fights, longhorns. Plan to spend at least 3hours. The cattle run is nice, but short. You can even take a pic on a longhorn! There is a petting zoo, but VERY overpriced! Had to pay $1 per person - even for an 11month old baby and another $3 for some feed for the animals. The cowboys walking around are very friendly and will even stop for a photo with you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpokieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Geared towards tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to the stockyards hoping to see a bit more realistic cattle drive. The longhorns are an impressive bunch, but they were as docile as well trained dogs. I'm sure they could have made that short walk all on their own without the cowboys hanging around. :-) Still entertaining. I think the biggest attractions are the bars.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family and budget friendly fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are a family of four with two young boys under five. We arrived at 1 p.m and took the kids to the petting zoo which we all enjoyed. We saw camels, llamas, goats, and a pig. It's only a dollar per person and three dollars for a cup of food. We bought some tickets for the Stockyards Fun Train which was totally worth it for us and the boys. Purchase tickets online ahead of time because during the week there is only one trip and it was packed. We made a short visit to a small museum and had some photo opps with longhorn cattle ( pics are five dollars per person. Take all the shots you want with your camera. Dinner at Riskys was good and they had great service. Also, save your money on parking. Pass up all five buck parking slots and head to the last lot. Its free and footsteps from the train and restaurants .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Gotta Go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Anyone who visits DFW and definitely anyone living in the area must put this on their list. Enjoy the real western atmosphere, cattle drive, great BBQ. Also take a seat at a real saloon in a real saddle for a drink. The cattle drives are twice daily every day. Check the schedule online.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing