We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical IHOP”
Review of IHOP - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
IHOP
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fentress, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Typical IHOP”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Clean restaurant, friendly enough staff, got the orders right. Ample parking for large rigs and RVs too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeisureTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good service on a busy night”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

IHOP has a fair menu no matter where you find it. What got our attention was that this place was sort of overwhelmed on New Years Day, yet they got us seated and served fairly quickly. And all with good humor in spite of how hurried they were.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoOSUCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
291 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We regularly travel I-10 between El Paso and San Antonio, and end up stopping in Fort Stockton for lunch, since it's the half-way point. This last visit, on December 23, was a disaster. The hostess who seated us did get us our beverages, but after waiting at least 10 minutes for someone to take our order, my husband went looking for a server. She took our order, and then 20 minutes later, my husband had to go check on the status. They said they were making his omelet, but 20 minutes later, still there was no food at our table. So he went looking again. We did finally get food when we'd been there waiting for an hour. The manager came to our table, apologized profusely, and asked us to give them another chance. She did comp our meal. However, she also told us that they were slammed (the restaurant was NOT real busy, at least not according to what we've experienced at other places) and they were training a new cook. On our time? For at least 40 minutes? The same thing had happened to us on one prior occasion, and we had tried again. The service has always been slow, and we are prepared for that. But this, happening a second time, was just too much. It slowed down our travel badly, caused us to have to drive a lot longer in the dark. The food itself was okay, though my husband's omelet was a bit dry and my salad seemed like it had been sitting around for a while. I've had it with this restaurant and plan to not go back again. To have this happen once is too much, to have it happen twice is inexcusable. I hate to give bad reviews, but this restaurant has really blown it as far as we are concerned. We will have to be desperate for food to go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Save Yourself the Misery”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Never again! This store needs to be shut down immediately. There were four parties waiting ahead of us when we arrived at 9 a.m. We were told that it would be a wait of between five and 10 minutes. Strange considering there were so many empty tables.

Thirty five minutes later (after all the parties ahead of us had given up and left), we were finally seated. A nice lady took our breakfast order within ten minutes. Another 30 minutes later, when we had yet to receive our food, we asked our server how much longer it would be. She told us about 15 minutes.

Realizing the employees here must either have no sense of time or they have no respect for their customers' time, we decided we had been abused enough by this Ihop. It was adios and never again to this worthless place, and hello and thank you, McDonald's (next door) for your fast and courteous service.

Helpful?
Thank WmBarretTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not Seated or Waited On”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We waited for 5 minutes to be acknowledged and seated. We were then seated at a dirty table and completely ignored for the next 10 minutes. The breakfast servers do not cover for each other and ignore table that are not in their section. I would not eat here again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teachkindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IHOP also viewed

 
Fort Stockton, TX
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing