We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay...”

Alfredo's Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: phone # 432-336-7776
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Was undecided about where to stop, drove up and down Dickinson before deciding on this little place. I supposed it was OK for Fort Stockton. It seemed to be very crowded so may be popular with the locals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our group of 5 stopped here about 1 pm while traveling on I-10. Our young lady server was quick with drinks, chips and tasty salsa. Our orders arrived quickly and our server had no problem splitting the check 3 ways. I had a combo plate consisting of a chili relleno filled and topped with cheese, cheese enchilada and 2 crispy beef tacos, rice and charro beans. I really liked the relleno and the red chili sauce on the enchilada was a welcome change from the thin meat chili sauce some Mexican restaurants use. Charro beans were good, but served a bit cool. Cost ~$10. My wife had the daily special which was 3 crispy tacos, 1 brisket, 1 chicken and 1 ground meat, rice and beans for ~$6, which she said was good. Everyone else in our group seemed pleased with their choices. Nothing fancy, but very passable Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4gentexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
346 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Good Mex”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The outside of Alfredo's will not give you confidence or attract you. We certainly were not enticed. But upon noticing the large lunch crowd of locals, we gave it a try, and were pleased.

This is Mexican, not Tex-Mex. I had the chile rellonos. The taste was probably the best I have eaten. The breading really complimented the not over done Chile. Unfortunately, like real mexican, the seeds were left in and were quite hard and near the stem very unpleasant. If seeds don't bother you, then you will love the chile rellonos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXRVer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“From Houston-- below average tex mex”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped during a road trip. Pretty slow service, below average food. Chile relleno was def the best out of what we ordered.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggiefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We checked the parking lot first...”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

... which is one of the ways we know if food is reliably good. Once gain, our tell-tale sign did not fail us! Alfredo's was crowded, had a widely varied mixed menu of Mexican and "American" food, was reasonably priced, delivered quickly by a hospitable waitress, and fully met our hopes for a filling and delicious meal! I ordered the #3 and got a huge sampling of all things Mexican, and all of them were good! My husband stuck with enchiladas but asked for both red and green sauce. Winner! AND both chips and salsa were great! All for $20. Do it! Stop in Fort Stockton on that long, dry trip across west Texas and eat at Alfredo's!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfredo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Fort Stockton, TX
Fort Stockton, TX
 
Fort Stockton, TX
 

Been to Alfredo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing