We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Fort Stockton
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We used points that were about to expire to stay here for free. Not sure we would have remained here if we had to pay. It wasn't as horrible as some of the past reviews have reported but there are enough choices to go elsewhere if you don't have pets. Location is convenient to the major interstate but there is also a deserted building very near the property where we observed several homeless people congregating. I'd rather drive a bit further and go elsewhere where my every move wasn't being watched, since each room is accessed via outside entry/exit, only.


The first room they gave us would not open after the keycard indicated a green light for entry; the door only opened 3/4 of the way. We were promptly given another room by an apologetic, nice front desk person. The property is older and hasn't had a renovation in a long time so we weren't expecting much upon entering the room. We found several electric sockets not in working order so we had to switch plugs for the lamps to work to give us light in the room, which didn't leave any free sockets available for charging our electronic items. The TV was plugged into a non-working socket so we unplugged the lamp that was in the working socket to use it for the TV.


Overall cleanliness was average. The beds were comfortable and the heating worked well. The bathroom equipment all worked fine, with adequate water pressure and hot water in the small, older tub/shower. The (basic) continental breakfast wasn't too bad, either. Quantity of items was plentiful, equipment was working (juice & coffee machines, waffle maker, toaster), and the serving and eating areas were clean. Again, the front desk staff was very nice and we didn't find deplorable conditions but we plan to try a different place to stay if ever in the same area again due to the location and age of the unrenovated property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrvlLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 434 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013 because 4 other hotels sold out. Had to wait 10 min at locked front door because person working was out. Found room to be very large with king bed, recliner, and desk with office chair, but you can tell it's an older property. Carpet was old and worn, restroom is very small and the worst part of the room. Shower curtain is in desperate need of replacement or at least a good bleaching..dirt marks of something and some mold spots in creases didn't make you feel all that clean. And hairs on the floor/tub never make you feel good when you just walked in & know they are not yours. Light fixture was awful and dirty. I do give them an A on the bed, comfy and lots of pillows! Was not worth $115.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeisureTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed in several La Quinta's over the years and this is the first one I have come across I will not return to. I knew at check-in this was not going to be a good experience. On the desk was a list of dirty rooms that had already been started. The room we got was not on that list, however once checked in I realized why there was such a list at 6pm on the desk.

Our room had hair shavings in the sink and all around the sink area. The bathtub looked like no effort was put into cleaning it. There was soap scum on the walls, the tub was dirty, the walls were definitely not wiped down.

As best as we could tell the sheets on the bed were clean and the bed comfortable. The overall appearance of the room was like a cheaper motel. In my opinion it was definitely NOT up to the level of most other La Quinta's I have stayed in. You get what you pay for here so do not have high expectations when checking in and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meamandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is not worth $85.00 a night. The rooms are old and dirty. It looks like a room from the 50s. They advertise Free Wi-Fi, but it didn't work and they couldn't get working, said they didn't know why it didn't work !! I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank celestine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kingsland, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed January 5, 2013

La Quinta Inns have been our chouse because we travel with our dog and he is always welcome there. The staff is always friendly and ready to help with our needs. We appriciate that we can count on clean rooms and a good breakfest to start our day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

the hotel was fairly nice. the room was very roomy. bathroom needed a little extra cleaning. the beds were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. Not bad, but definitely stayed at better. the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gallup
2
Reviewed December 26, 2012

For 85.00 a night it was not worth it. The rooms were old and in need of an upgrade. There was a hole in the wall where repair work was done and the panel was lose with screws sticking out...not safe for kids!!! The floor was also dirty when we walked in there. For the rate I expected more from the room they are small and it was an old hotel. We also asked for a roll away bed and all that was in the room was a CRIB. Then we asked for a roll away and was told that she was the only one on duty and couldn't leave to get one. So we were out of luck. Breakfast the next morning was bare minimum and the people were cleaning and putting stuff up while we were eating even though there was still 30 mins left for breakfast. Much nicer hotels in the area that are close to stay at for a tad bit more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Stockton hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Stockton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Fort Stockton
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 17 in Fort Stockton
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton
Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton
#7 of 17 in Fort Stockton
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Stockton
Hampton Inn Fort Stockton
#2 of 17 in Fort Stockton
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Stockton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton

Address: 1537 N US Highway 285, Fort Stockton, TX 79735-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Stockton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Fort Stockton
Price Range: $103 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton Hotel Fort Stockton
La Quinta Fort Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing