We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the Grandkids like this one”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Agave Azul Mexican Kitchen - Tequila Sanctuary
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Agave Azul is named after the Tequilana-Weber Agave Azul (blue agave) plant, in which only the finest Tequilas are produced from. Agave Azul proudly serves Upscale Mexican Cuisine combined with our unique touch of cooking with the wonderful spirit of Tequila. Tequila is the spirit of Mexico, therefore at Agave Azul we incorporate Tequila in our cooking, our margaritas, and in our spirit. We welcome you to enjoy our homemade flour and corn tortillas, our made from scratch recipes, and our sopapillas drizzled in Miel de Agave (agave nectar). We are proud to feature Dallas' first and foremost Premier Tequila Bar serving over 250+ pure 100% Blue Agave Tequila's as well as featuring El Jimador Tequila as our Tequila of choice for our margaritas. El Jimador Tequila is made from 100% blue agave's in the rich, red soil of the highlands of Arandas and is highly reviewed. So sit back, eat, sip, and may Tequila, The Spirit of Mexico, Live on. Salud!
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
417 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Even the Grandkids like this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

about 8 blocks from our daughter and her family. We like to eat at this restaurant on our occasional trips down to Texas. Not really authentic Mexican as we think of it but we do enjoy the fare their. Obviously being a return customer says it all. Always clean, always friendly. Go there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillIBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    7
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I have been wanting to try this restaurant and stopped by last Saturday afternoon. The hostess pretty much only greeted us with "How many?" and that was it. The restaurant wasn't very busy, there was on party of 6 and several smaller parties. The waiter was at our table and took our drink order fairly quickly. He then came back and took our meal order. We ordered queso to start with, and I ordered carne asada and my wife ordered a shrimp dish, not too complicated. The queso came and we were both disappointed, tasted just like melted velveeta with Ro-tel, something we enjoy at home but were expecting better at a Mexican restaurant. It then got worse, after waiting over 45 minutes, having 3 rounds of drinks, and 2 bowls of chips, and two inquiries about our food and getting the response it was almost ready, we decided to leave. We also noted the table of 6 that ordered before us still had not received their meals. The manager did come over and apologized, saying they only had one cook and the kitchen was behind. She gave us a card for a free appetizer for our next visit, but we probably won't be back, too many other Mexican restaurants to try. We did go to Texas Roadhouse, and had a much better dining experience. A hostess that greeted us nicely, a friendly and competent waitress, and a well paced meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Had so much potential but fell completely flat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had recently moved into the area and were excited to find a Mexican food place so close. On our first visit we were thoroughly impressed, great margaritas, quick/friendly service and pretty good food. We even joined their loyalty program because we knew we would be back. Then we did come back and it was like we were in a completely different restaurant. It was a nice evening so the patio was packed which we understood but they had servers working both areas, so our food was so late. I ordered the steak fajita quesadilla and there was one small piece of meat for the whole plate. My husbands second margarita came after we had already finished our meal and was nothing but ice.
We wouldn't have returned but we received a $10 coupon for becoming a member so we tried again. Alas it was no better than the previous visit. We managed to get a spot on he patio but waited 10 min before we were spoken to. We ordered and our meals were completely wrong, the waitress offered her apologies but that's it. So we waited another 20min for our correct orders to be done. I would have expected a manager to come over, offer to take something off our bill r even just apologize but we didn't get anything. Not to mention the place has a water feature that parents have taken to making a playground for their kids. So yes while being on a patio on a nice evening would normally have been awesome, it was ruined by a bunch of screaming/crying wet children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGIEPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of the better Mexican places in Flower Mound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We've been here several times. Everyone in the family (2 adults, 2 kids) likes the food. I'd say the food is different, but about equal in quality, as Animas. In general, it's my favorite Mexican place in Flower Mound. I prefer their margaritas to those of other establishments. Maybe it's because we tend to go out to eat early, or maybe we always happen to get the best waitress, but we've had decent and prompt service here.

We now avoid outdoor seating because of bees. Lovely patio, but there always seem to be bees.

It's a bit dark inside. The cost is a little high for what you are getting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motherontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Use to be a favorite.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wish I did not have to say this. Don't know what happen but service, food and management changed. During Spring and Summer last year was so difficult to get a seat especially outside. My last visit I was so disappointed in everything, we did not have a wait and it was not full. Hmmmmm?
Will go for a return in hopes it was a bad day. However others who have been there seen we have have said the same.
Hope on my return it will have improved because it is such a neat place to eat, drink and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenHagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Azul Mexican Kitchen - Tequila Sanctuary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing