We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Trip”
Review of Leisure Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fentress
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leisure Resort
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from our mini family reunion at Leisure Resort. We had a great time. The kids played volleyball, basketball and putt putt golf. The adults set around the fire telling stories and remembering when. The facilities were so clean. As a matter of fact one family member said the bathrooms were cleaner than the Marine cabana bathrooms in Hawaii. We will definitely be back on Nov 17 for their 1st Pecan Festival, sounds like a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed here over a weekend in a cozy 1 bedroom, 1 bath cabin. It had a queen bed in a separate bedroom and a set of bunk beds in the main room. We also had a great kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave & coffee maker. We had a great time fishing, hiking, taking pictures, and just being out in nature. We also cooked outside on the grill and had the traditional s'mores! The setting here is really quiet and peaceful with the San Marcos River and the beautiful pecan trees surrounding you! So close to get to, but the feeling of being far away in the woods. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The office opens at 10am and check-in is at 3pm. You can arrange for an earlier check-in for an additional fee. Well worth the stay. We look forward to coming back here soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4funRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

First off, we enjoyed this place very much, especially the kiddo. Husband & I prefer something a bit more secluded when camping, and that's why I'm not rating it five stars. You're seriously RIGHT next to your neighbors in a tent. Forget AT&T, you can literally reach out & touch someone. That being said, the campgrounds are insanely gorgeous - 125 yr. old pecan orchard on the banks of a crystal clear, spring-fed river with abundant wildlife. The campsites are on actual grass rather than dirt (most places on the nearby Comal & Guadalupe Rivers have your tent sites on dirt). You can fish & rent tubes here (it was still swimming weather in October!). The river is a constant 72 degrees year-round. The setting could not be more beautiful. Amenities: a small nine-hole mini golf course, two large playgrounds, swimming pool (why they have this with the river, I don't know), horseshoe pits, & volleyball. We also spent a good deal of time gathering pecans & eating them as we went! Each "improved" campsite (water & electric) has a picnic table (no shelter/roof/covering), fire ring & grill. We opted to camp at the bottom of the hill in the primitive camping area next to our campsite so as not to be sandwiched next to our neighbors. Prices are very reasonable for the area ($46/night was what we paid for family of three). Showers cost $0.25 per four minutes (quarters only!). Toilet facilities are clean. Staff is very helpful & friendly. There's a store on-site with most of your basic needs if you forgot something at home. Besides tent sites, there are cabins, two "treehouses" (cabins on stilts), and RV sites as well. Tons of families, no druken loudness that we experienced. Overall, a great time & definitely a place I want to re-visit. If you get a chance, rent a canoe or kayak from Spencer's while you're there. It's about a 5-10 minute drive to their facility. If you want more space & more seclusion for your camping, Spencers also operates Shady Grove campground with more primitive surroundings & no playgrounds, etc.

Room Tip: Primitive campsites are closest to the river with the best views. For improved sites, any sites und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Close to home family get away. Enjoy the quiet family atmosphere. Very clean and grounds well kept. Lots of beautiful shade trees. Great place to get away and relax!!! Will definitely go back every chance we get. Hope it is soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A weekend at Leisure Resort brings our family back to nature with all the comforts we enjoy - no matter the season there is something to enjoy from the river and pool to cooking out and campfires! The staff is always helpful and friendly and the amenities are very clean. This is a great place to just relax and is perfect for a weekend get-away or a longer vacation with all of the near-by things to do ... our son can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a two days at Leisure Resort. The Duplex cabin with queen beds was a little smaller than I expected. There were 4 of us in the cabin and it was a little tight. Good thing they had shower and restroom facilities a close to our cabin by the nice pool area, very clean. There was no sink in the bathroom, because it is that small. Not much storage for items you bring, stored some items in the car. Beds slept pretty good, plastic under your sheets. We smoked everyone out when we used the charcoal grill. Wind was blowing their way. Nice porch area, but sun made it hot in the evening. Bring fan for circulation. Two air conditioners and still not reat cool in room until night. River was nice. Floating was not advisable for children - too may trees in the way, but we did have fun floating, just have to watch out. Staff was friendly and helpful. Got a deal through Living Social so did pay full price. Had voucher for 4 free tubes but afraid to use them, too many sharp tree snags. Used our own so didn't use pickup service which was extra. All in all - good time, great place, just need to know what to expect. Great place to get away and relax.

Room Tip: Duplex D8 was on the end, quiet area, near pool and restrooms, nice picnic table on porch - did have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaVictoria_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I planned a trip for my family here after I saw it on groupon. I wanted to be somewhere close to the river so we could take turns with the baby at the cabin. It was a great location the lady at check in was really sweet and friendly.
I was disappointed because when I called I was told that the river was the perfect level. It was a nice level to float except that you would run straight into fallen trees and my kids were getting flipped upside down and stuck. My husband cut himself all up trying to go against the current to rescue our kids from drowning! If I would have been informed I would have still rented the cabin but not spent 80 some thing dollars on innertubes.
Also, 130 to stay in a little clean cabin on the river was okay, but charging for each person was just annoying. The second night we had a cabin and tent site. Same thing, 30 something for a tent site is a little high, but the park is nice. Being charged for each person and then, an extra 10 if my kids wanted to pitch a second tent on the site was just overly annoying. Tubing the river here is not safe for kids, even ones that are good swimmers.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmeraldWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Resort

Address: 1 River Lane, PO Box 277, Fentress, TX 78622
Location: United States > Texas > Fentress
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fentress
Price Range: $26 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the banks of the San Marcos River, Leisure Resort is the ideal place to vacation with family and friends while in Central Texas. Relax in the shade of a pecan tree, float down the river in a tube, or simply enjoy the picturesque views of our countryside. You'll find our clean and quiet environment a welcome change from your hectic life. Nestled among a hundred-year-old pecan orchard, our family-friendly resort offers a choice of accommodations sure to make your stay comfortable. Stay in one of our Country Cabins or a Treehouse; all rentals are air-conditioned. Our RV sites are complete with full hook-ups, either back-in or pull thru sites. If you feel like camping, pitch your tent in our camping area with connections or go primitive at a spot by the riverside. Whatever you choose you'll be sure to enjoy all the pleasures of country living and still be in close proximity to city conveniences. Looking to host your next family reunion, party or event someplace new? Our newly remodeled clubhouse and outdoor pavilion offer the perfect setting to bring everyone together. The air-conditioned clubhouse features banquet tables and chairs, full kitchen, TV, projector system, covered porch and deck with outdoor kitchen. The pavilion features picnic tables, evening lighting, and a large BBQ grill/smoker. Leisure Resort is a perfect relaxing escape to reconnect with family and friends in a clean, natural environment. Come for the day or stay for the week, there's plenty to do and see at Leisure Resort! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing