We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT TYPICAL TEXAN FOOD AND COFFEE”
Review of Pete's Cafe

Pete's Cafe
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A homey small cafe at the intersection of Addison, Farmers Branch, and Carrollton that serves up great breakfasts and lunches. Home cooking at its best - don't tell your mama!
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT TYPICAL TEXAN FOOD AND COFFEE”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The best typical Texan food in the USA. I have been a bit unfair to this small restaurant, not to put it in this place of criticism where people comment on the best restaurants in the U.S. and the world, but is not required to be so grate to have a service , attention and taste as in this small restaurant. For a good and complete breakfast my favorite dish is the pete's special; consisting of 2 traditional sunny side up eggs ,bacon has browns accompanied by a stack (3) of the best pancakes around the united states and a very good coffee. The atmosphere is special because you feel like an old timer upon hearing the different accents and tone of the talks of people who attend there, most middle-aged people and entertain you with his good humor, in addition to the special attention you provide the waitresses making you feel like you are in the house , besides that you indulge in everything you request.
Southtexas style dishes are delicious and not to mention preparing chutney sundays.
They have fast service and you are welcomed with an excellent cup of hot coffee.
It could mean a lot of positives but this is enough for this place for today.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Better places to be found in the same area”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Maybe it was a bad day or the cook had a hangover….

Had read the reviews and I have driven by here many, many times. So finally stopped for breakfast and I was set for a great meal.

The staff is very friendly and seems to have worked together for years. There were plenty of regulars here as well.

I had the sausage/ham/bacon omelet and “hash browns” with a side of biscuits and gravy. The omelet was as tough as leather, way over cooked. The hash browns were more like skillet potatoes that were mushy and not crispy. The gravy had the taste and feel of a package, just add milk and not homemade.

The other dish tried was the French toast with eggs over easy and “extra” crispy bacon. The French toast looked and tasted like a half hearted effort, the eggs were cooked correctly but the requested “extra crispy” bacon tasted as if they just pulled it out of the oven (where they are keeping it warm) and was not “made to order”.

There are other places just down the road that have better breakfast. I will not be stopping here again.

One more item, this is a “smoking” place so even though you may be in “non-smoking”, the 2 foot high piece of plastic between you and the smoker will not really help, just saying.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holeman_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A long time favorite!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Everytime we go there we order the biscuits. It's absolutely the best in town. The people there are always friendly and very helpful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Right at Home!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Love the place, go there for early morning breakfasts. Service is the main draw--hat's off to the friendly staff. Keep up the good work and all the best to you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 789Christine789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love Pete's”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is a one of my favorite places to eat breakfast. This is my wife and I second visit here and we fell in love with this place even more. I've never ate here for lunch so I can't review that part of the menu. I don't have any complaints about this place. The waitress was really nice and attentive. The food, omg the food was delicious. I could have just ordered a plate of the homemade hash browns with onions and I would have been satisfied. I plan on making a third trip next week and you should too.

Helpful?
Thank DDDtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Cafe also viewed

Farmers Branch, TX
Farmers Branch, TX
 

Been to Pete's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing