We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, quiet park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purtis Creek State Park

Purtis Creek State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Eustace
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park is best known for its fishing: a small lake lying in the center of the park is stocked with lots of bass.
Murchison, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, quiet park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We've camped here twice. Well maintained park, nice swimming and playground area. Most RV sites are shaded.. and nice trails..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank momlikes2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cub Scouts Had GREAT time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We took a pack of 55 cub scouts and 40 adults to Purtis Creek during the middle of April 2012. The camping could not have been better as all of the 12 campsites we used were flat, open, and easily accessible. The fishing was decent given that we had roughly 30 poles in the water at one time, in one place. Take a bike!! The hike & bike trails were terrifc and wonderfully marked. The rangers came by often, but we're never anything but wonderfull nice. We put the kids down around 10 and then dads enjoyed the individual camp fires. Bring your own wood. The woods between the sites are pretty thick, thus we could barely see another fire just two camp sites away. The only down side was when we were trying to work with the park employees before our trip. Given our group of 12 sites and two other cub scout packs there at the same time in groups of 10 & 8 sites, it would have been nice to have a friendlier person to deal with on the phone and help coordinate the space between the 3 groups. In the end, it didn't really matter though. We had a terrific time and would go back again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasTravler1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great park for "Dads and kids camping trip"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We went with the Dads and kids (no Mom's, which they thought was very nice!) from our church and had a blast. Group of 45 in 5 camp sites. We had dinner at the pavilion which had a volley ball pit and fished right around the bait shop and canoe rental. Caught at least two big Bass (and many more) and one pound plus Crappie with minnows and a tiny litte jig. Had a great time with the kids watching the raccoon raid our garbage bag, he took the bag of cheese puffs with him (?). Took the kids bikes which was a good thing. Also, bring your own wood, it's available at the park but cheaper elsewhere. Bait shop has bait but not too much food. Canoes were $11 an hour. There is a swimming area and lots of tables and pits for day use. Most campers strung a set of Christmas lights around there camp sites to be able to see without disturbing the ambience, great idea. Very safe feel, Rangers came by regularly. What else can I say? For campers and day use, this park is A+.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve_In_RC-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice park adn lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I need to go back and spend some more time here cause I just stayed one night, but it was quiet, clean and beautiful scenery on the one trail I did. Kind of off the beaten path. Nice fishing facilities, campsites are small and right on the road, semi level with water and elec.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little park for camping, fishing, and swimming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

It's not big, but Purtis Creek State Park is well-maintained with nice campsites, picnic areas, fishing piers, canoe rentals, boat ramps, clean restrooms, and a pretty nature trail. Even in January there were people camping and fishing there, but it was quiet and peaceful. Nice, clean lake with lots of birds and small wildlife about.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank salesproquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purtis Creek State Park also viewed

Been to Purtis Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing