We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashion good time”

Galaxy Drive-in Movie Theatre
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Ennis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old fashion good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Met up with friends from the church the first time we went. Had a great time. Old fashion fun played cards before the movies. Second time the wife and I had a date night. Then we took my son and his girlfriend every time a good time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdtaylor67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Old fashioned fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Be sure to bring your own portable radio (if you want to sit in the back of your truck) and come a little early to get a good spot. Very fun under the beautiful Texas sky.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Took our grand daughter...in her pajama's. She thought it was so fun to go to the movies in PJ's. Great place, great nostalgia.

Helpful?
Thank NativeOakCliff-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fun, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Galaxy Drive-in is a lot of fun for people of all ages. Its also one of the best values in the movie industry right now. For 6.50 per person you get to watch two movies and there not old and outdated either. There new releases. You buy your tickets based off which to movies you want to see. Each screen has two movies paired with it for the evening. Once you pull up to the screen you have your seats for the evening. I have parked my car all over and there is really no bad location.

There are two options for listening to the movie. You can roll your windows down and put speakers on the outside of your car (provided on posts around the field). Or you can turn on your car battery and listen through the radio. My wife and I typically use the second option because while the speakers do provide good sound you get a more surround sound movie experience when you use the speakers in your car. We also like to turn the car around, lay in the trunk and watch the movie (I have an SUV).

They have several locations where you can get snacks there typically packed and can take a while to get in and out of. They have hotdogs, popcorn, candy, etc. The bathrooms are not always very clean so we try to avoid them when possible.

Overall this is a great place for family outings, dates, and an attraction to take visiting in-laws and relatives to since there unlikely to have a drive-in movie theater in their hometown. Highly recommend the Drive-in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“REMEMBERING THE DAYS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is great loved this. Have not been to drive in since I was 13 so this brought back alot of memories and they also have a mini putt putt

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BonnieEnnis_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galaxy Drive-in Movie Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Galaxy Drive-in Movie Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing