We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome retreat!”
Review of X Bar Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eldorado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
X Bar Ranch
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome retreat!”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Round House at X Bar Ranch. It was a welcome, secluded, refreshing change from the big city! The house was really wonderful with the large window looking out onto the landscape. The most fun came from watching all the birds and animals come to drink from the tank of water just outside of the window! We saw Painted Buntings, Cardinals, Orchard Orioles, Scrub Jays, and more. And at dusk, a parade of thirsty critters came to drink as well - a skunk, gray fox, bobcat, and a family of raccoons entertained us! Be sure to bring some binoculars to get a close-up view of all these creatures. We had never seen a bobcat or gray fox in the wild before!
We highly recommend the X Bar Ranch for a chance to really relax and get away. We also enjoyed the nearby Sonora Caverns, learning that in this cave are formations not found in any other cave in the world.
The moon was almost full during our stay which didn't allow for star-gazing, but we still enjoyed the moonlit evenings!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Mexico Linda room while on a trip to Sonora Caverns. Fantastic stay although words will be hard to describe this place. Incredibly friendly and helpful family owns this ranch and apparently has for generations. If being in the middle of nowhere in comfort is appealing, this Ranch is perfect. They have ipod hookup, modern and comfortable bedding, and VERY CLEAN throughout with emphasis on CLEAN. The family center has everything you need and the little casitas are perfect for a cozy getaway. Although we didn't bike or hike, there are trails that would be fun at any level. The only other person on the grounds was a gentleman from Austin, TX who I understood came there quiet often with his Texas sized telescope. He was kind enough to not only let us view but also provided us with descriptions of several constellations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianmitchell37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Really loved it. Loved all the stars and feeling of tranquility, but at the same time being only 10 min. from the highway. Really great value, loved the access to the kitchen and lodge area. Would stay here again, and would highly recommend this for a retreat, party, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solaceofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Area, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Lodging--Clean, Clean, Clean--Bed so comfortable, room unique Western motif, comfortable temperature in the room-- no complaints
Service--Stan was an excellent host. Made every effort to make our stay first-class
There were 11 of us--extended family. We loved the big lodge where we heated our dinner and sat and talked. Then outside we built a fire and sat around and talked some more. Everything you needed was provided. Beautiful starry night sky. I would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deboharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the ranch. I actually slept better than i've slept since coming to TX. I am a graduate student at A&M and my visit was mainly business. I was hired as a driver for a tourism class which was visiting the ranch for a tourism experience. I was impressed with the ranch considering the main construct of the facility and its purposes. I am not a hunter or a rancher so it was a little out of the way for me and i felt like we were never going to get there. Overall the facilities were more than adequate. There are a few suggestions I would make, like perhaps some kind of path lighting to the cabins, i almost tripped and fell more than once because i couldn't see, but overall it was really nice and the peace and quiet was the best part of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrq9267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Picture yourself hours from the city, staring up at a clear sky filled with more stars then you've ever seen in your life, and an ice cold Shiner beer in your hand... The X Bar is the perfect place for people who just want to get away from it all. If the hotel had not been totally booked up by another party, we definitely would have stayed another night. Even though we were over 2 hours late, Stan (the owner) was happy to show us around and guide us into the ranch after -like the city slickers we are- we had taken a wrong turn. Next time, we will get there earlier so we can explore the hiking trails. VERY close to the world famous and incredible Sonora Caverns. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatssoboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Husband and I stayed at the X-Bar Ranch after I accidentally found it durig an Internet search. We opted to stay in one of the Cabins. The cabin, while small, was extremely clean and was comfortably furnished.
The Lodge was great. Comfortable furniture, full kitchen, and the most wonderful back porch to sit on and contemplate the meaning of the world! I checked out the swimming pool on our 2nd day there, and it was just perfect to me, nice size, cool, and deep (5 foot) all around. I'm 5'7"... shorter guests take note... there's no shallow end.
The cabins sit close to the road, but behind a barrier of native trees so there was a good sound break, but the ranch road had VERY light traffic (3 cars we saw) so not a problem.
About 30 minutes from the Caverns of Sonora which were beautiful... don't miss them.

We difinitely plan to go back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fern281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to X Bar Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Bar Ranch

Property: X Bar Ranch
Address: PO Box 696, Eldorado, TX 76936-0696
Location: United States > Texas > Eldorado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eldorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The X Bar Ranch is the ideal sanctuary for anyone interested in the splendor of the Texas countryside. The ranch encompasses 7,100 privately owned acres of diverse terrain including ample native flora and fauna, scenic vistas, star-filled night skies and magnificent sunsets over gentle rolling hills. We invite you to experience our welcoming hospitality, private, comfortable and uniquely decorated cabins, lodge and guest house and our pristine natural surroundings on the western edge of the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing