We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“God Tex-Mex food and fine service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lupes

Los Lupes
Ranked #28 of 69 Restaurants in Duncanville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“God Tex-Mex food and fine service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This restaurant had upgraded its appearance in the last few years and looks less like "dive" now. Sitting behind the Hilton Garden Inn has added to its charm, The food is plentiful and done well. My personal favorite is the stuffed shrimp served on roasted onions and peppers with pico de gallo, guacamole, sour cream, baracho beans, and tortilla. Difficult to consume it all there.Home pack is easily handled.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go for the fajitas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Los Lupes has been here for 20+ years which speaks to its success and popularity with the locals. The prices are very reasonable for great traditional Tex-Mex. They've also got good specials on Margaritas. It is our first choice of restaurants in the area when we have an appetite for a big plate of fajitas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've enjoyed both of our visits to Los Lupes in Duncanville. The food was very good, and the service was friendly and attentive. Definitely worth trying, and it's right off Interstate 20.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Ground Beef Enchiladas And Tamales--Substandard Queso Dip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Los Lupes has absolutely great ground beef enchiladas and tamales--some of the best (if not the best) I have every eaten at any Mexican restaurant anywhere, but they know absolutely nothing about how to make queso (cheese) dip. Cheese dip should always have BLENDED jalapenos in it, not cut up and dumped in jalapenos nor be furnished with no jalapenos at all. My meal experience and thus my overall view of any Mexican restaurant starts and ends with the quality of the cheese dip. And Los Lupes, like way too many Mexican restaurants, has no clue how to make spicy cheese dip. Cheese dip with jalapenos BLENDED into it--that is how it is done. All Mexican restaurants, Los Lupes included, take note. If you don't know how to make spicy cheese dip right I will be eating at your Mexican restaurant only one time. There will be no repeat/return business by me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A familiar Mexican restaurant in D'ville”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been here several times over the years. It's typical Mexican food that you get in this area. The staff are friendly and we leave satisfied. The prices are great. I didn't know they were open for breakfast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wokabaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Lupes also viewed

 
Duncanville, TX
 

Been to Los Lupes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing