We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but very noisy atmosphere!”

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Duncanville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food but very noisy atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love this restaurant BUT the atmosphere is so noisy. Never fails that we get a really slow waiter or waitress. Must be our luck.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
339 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Five Star Experience at a Premium Price”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Positives: excellent food and service
Negatives: pricey, cramped seating

It's hard to find great seafood away from the coast. It's even harder to find first-class service. Pappadeaux in Duncanville has both.

Our group of four (two couples) arrived about 6 p.m. on a Friday night. We were seated immediately. A server quickly greeted us and took drink orders; shortly afterward he brought a couple of loaves of the best French bread I've had outside of New Orleans.

We ordered two appetizers..."shrimp fondeaux" and "clam-spinach" dip...for the group to share. Each couple split one entree. Portions were large and every item was excellently prepared. We even took food home.

If you're going to splurge by going to a place like Pappadeaux, dessert is required. We ordered their signature banana pudding and a slice of key lime pie to share. The pudding is served in
a quart Mason-style jar. It tasted fabulous. Despite the fact all of us ate a portion, some was leftover. Not a problem...our server brought a lid for the jar. We took the entire container home!

Our server and those who helped him were efficient, polite, and interesting. Drinks were refilled promptly and food items served in a timely manner. Our questions were answered promptly and expertly. All the employees seemed to know what to do, when to do it, and how to do it.

Of course, all this excellence comes with a price...about $100 in our case. Not a lot for New York City, but certainly a premium price in a south suburb of Dallas.

The only "negative" was our "table for four" was barely large enough for the group. Spacing between tables was a little tight, but not as close as some restaurants we've recently patronized.

This is a small issue compared to the overall excellence we experienced at Pappadeaux. It's nothing that would prevent a return visit. Next time we're in the area and and planning a
celebration, Pappadeaux will be high on the list of candidates.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Real_Birdcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
238 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Very, Very Favorite of Mine”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

You will not be disappointed. Easy access off the main highway, state 67 I think just south of the I-20 interchange. This is New Orleans at its finest in the middle of Texas yet! From the grounds, entrance outside and in you will be quickly moved into a Cajun food mood. Just ate there, Aug 1, and had their lettuce wedge salad and my very favorite, Mississippi Catfish Opelousas (Blackened catfish with oysters, shrimp & crabmeat in a lemon garlic butter sauce, with dirty rice.). At $25.95 it is a bit pricy but worth every single dime. Great, curious, helpful service, just a supper atmosphere and overall best of the best in the area. Casual is fine and you will not feel out of place. This is a take-your-time-and-enjoy place so good eats to you and yours - enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wmralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great visit and food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed our meal and our wait staff. As always, food was great and even though busy, we got good service

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seafood for the Soul”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you love seafood, this is the place to go. They're a bit pricey but, the food is worth it. This location has a great staff. They are always super friendly and the food here is pretty good. Definitely grab some calamari, gumbo and a po'boy sandwich at this location.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank poutababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing