We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dumas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a family vacation. The hotel was a little noisey as we could hear other guests from both the hallway and from upstairs. The front desk was difficult to reach as they were working alone and not always available for phone calls. The breakfast was nice, hot and plentiful. Checking in to the hotel was quick and the pool was nice to relax in. We were impressed by the size of our room and the cleanliness of the hotel. Overall we liked it and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcattel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear wcattel,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are happy that you like our breakfast and we also appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were driving through and stopped for the night as a pit stop. This is very nice hotel in a rural area of the state. It appeared with the heavy traffic of Christmas, I was lucky to secure a room for the night. Check in was fast and was given a room on the fourth floor, which was OK. It appears the hotel in fairly new so the rooms were large, well appoint and the beds were fantastic. I slept like a baby. The hotel is built back off the highway so the traffic noise should not come into play.
The hotel had free Wifi and a great breakfast. Eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy which were all good. The buffet included all the regulars. The hotel is located in the main town area so other restaurants are near. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would reccommend reservations during holiday high traffic volume times.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a good stop during our road trip. The hotel is fresh, clean and comfortable. They have a happy hour as well as a breakfast. Dumas is a small town, but this is about the only place to stop on Hwy. 287 south of Denver and north of Amarillo. Would stop here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a decent place in a small, very rural town. The town is a working,oil and ranching centered one and there's not much fancy any place here, but this hotel was comfortable, clean and up to date.
It seems pretty new or at least newly remodeled.
I always expect that little town should have hotels w/ little prices, but not the case in Dumas- the price was pretty much average for most of the area, slightly higher than I was expecting, and no flexibility o the staff's part to adjust. Otherwise, however, they were accommodating.
The breakfast was typical- decently prepared and nothing special, but also nothing wrong.

Room Tip: we get top floor- no running kids above you rattling the walls and ceiling--king suite is spacious a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steverace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I traveled to the Dumas area several times for work, and this has become my favorite home-away-from-home when in this area. The hotel is rather large, relatively new, and seldom crowded. It is located on the South side of town, away from lots of the industries which are North of town, making this a quiter location, without the smell of cattle yards and refineries. There is a Super Walmart acros the street, so necessities are close by (including gas). There are plenty of places to eat are along the main strip, and this hotel is less than an hour drive from Amarillo.
The rooms are nicely sized, with refridgeraror, microwave, flat screen tv, coffee maker, etc. the rooms on the backside of the hotel (Western facing) have a nice view of the Texas range, without too many buildings or other items to ruin the view. The rooms are clean, and tidied up nicely each day. The breakfast is the typical Holiday Inn fare, and the staff is friendly. Overall, I will definitely continue to treat this as my favorite place to stay when in this area, and I recommend it to coworkers who find themselves in this same area.

Room Tip: West facing rooms on the upper floors have nice views of the Texas landscape.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great motel...just a little pricey even w/ discount. Rooms were clean. Some cosmetic disrepair in bathroom. Only real problem for us is lack of what we consider good eating facilites in Dumas (in spite of styaing here here several times and listening to the "locals " for a decent eaery).

Room Tip: Upper floor quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasa4122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is pretty new, but the AC unit is so loud that a good night's sleep is impossible. In addition, the shower head is not working properly. This is not one of my best experiences staying at HIE.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dumas
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Dumas
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dumas
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dumas
Red Roof Inn Dumas
#7 of 11 in Dumas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas

Address: 1932 S Dumas Ave, Dumas, TX 79029-6003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dumas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dumas
Price Range: $134 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in back of the Hampton Inn located in Dumas, Texas, located north of Amarillo. This is the perfect location for business or pleasure, offering our 'Hot Breakfast Buffet' to start your day! If you're here for pleasure you are just minutes away from Windows on the Plains Museum, Art Center, Cactus Playa Lake, migrating birds and antique shopping in downtown. Less than an hour from the hotel you can explore Palo Duro Canyon, American Quarter Horse Association Hall of Fame and Lake Meredith also Located only 2 miles from the Moore County Hospital District and the Pheasant Trails Golf Course, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites & Hampton Inn in Dumas,TX is the perfect place for you. Swift & Co., Valero, Venable s Welding/Roustabout, BP, and Pioneer National Resources (CIG), Amarillo College is just a few of the companies that do business in the Dumas area. Wind Energy is a big part of the Texas Panhandle and one of the prime spots in Texas for Wind Energy. Relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish decor and amenities, free WiFi and wireless high-speed including fiber optic at both propertys Internet access, and the best night sleep you had in days. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear indoor heated pool & spa or energize in our Fitness Center or free acess to all our guest at the local YMCA must present room key for free ascess to both propertys.Polish that presentation in the business center and we even have the right space for your professional meeting,wedding,baby showers or even birthday partys.We here ready with all you need to make your trip to Dumas a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dumas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dumas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing