We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak - No Bull!”
Review of Granny Clarks

Granny Clarks
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Abilene, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Steak - No Bull!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Granny Clark's is a rustic, restaurant and buffet. We haven't ordered from a menu yet because the buffet always looks so good. Our first visit was for Sunday lunch and the buffet offered all the typical home-style Sunday fare - pot roast, fried chicken, chicken fried steak, etc. with sides to match. Home made bread was delicious as well.

Our second visit was on a Saturday night. The dinner buffet features something different each night of the week. Saturday is steak and shrimp. The star of the show was the steak. Even buffet style, there was a choice of medium well and medium rare. The steak was thick, grilled properly, deliciously seasoned, and if I have ever had a more tender steak ANYWHERE, I certainly cannot remember it. That statement includes some high dollar steak houses for which one would pay three times as much as the meal at Granny Clark's.

This is down-home food so don't waltz in expecting fancy food or fancy atmosphere. However, the staff is friendly, the food is consistently good and the place is always busy. I would mention the delicious desserts but there has to be some mystery for you to discover on your own! Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place to grab a bite eat. Good buffet with fresh food. Usually buffet food seems to have been over cooked from sitting under the lights too long but not hear. Food was fresh and delicious. You could order from the menu as well. Everything looked and tasted great! Definite place to stop when traveling in the area. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bruce120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great value and delish cfs”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Terrific friendly service and all you can eat buffet. Perfect mid way stop to refuel yourself at local spot.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kennellyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Never had a bad experience here”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've been there for the chicken night- Wednesday, and if you're a chicken liver fan, this is the place to be.
My last trip was this past Thursday night for hamburger night. The price is right, the burgers are huge and juicy. We also had french fries, onion rings, and cheese fries (there were 5 of us). The burger patties are thick and hefty, and the buns are up to the task, large and soft. We waddled out of there as happy campers, even though we had to avert our eyes from the refrigerated case of pie slices.
I've heard several times that the breakfast buffet is excellent. Someday I'll get there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kimnkitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

GREAT! Love the food! Great customer service! Will visit again! Waitress was very friendly! We got the buffet & OMG! The banana pudding was to die for!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny Clarks also viewed

 

Been to Granny Clarks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing