We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Pool Preserve

Hamilton Pool Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a great place! I went in the winter to avoid the summer crowds, but I have to go back to swim there! Because of the heavy rain on the previous days, it wasn't safe to swim and the water wasn't so blue. But it's still a wonderful place. It was an easy hike to the pool, but go slow when going back. We also took the hike to the river, which was easy enough. I loved hearing the water on the way, very relaxing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kricka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    110
    24
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is one of the most peaceful and tranquil places I have ever visited. I have the luxury of living just a few minutes from this beautiful place and I would recommend it to all of my friends and family

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdnaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The pool at the garden of Eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you want a unique Texas experience, Hamilton pool is the place to go. It is worth the short drive out of Austin, to visit one of natures greatest creations. Hamilton pool is a deep clear blue pool which is nestled under a huge rock formation. It is a great place for the whole family to go and swim.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank micyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little Hawaii in the middle of Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Quite a trip west of Austin, but if you are heading out to Fredricksburg or Perdenales Falls, a great side trip. Elderly park for free. Parking is limited and I believe the parking is $5. There is a trail with steps to the scenic area that kids 2 and up can manage with a little patience. I have taken my parents (age 70) who had no trouble (but they had no knee arthritis). As you decend into area of the pool, the landscape changes from Hill country scrub to a very non-Texas looking sunken cave with ferns, cool blue water and fern covered walls. Walk away from the falls and follow the stream to the Perdenales river. There is a website and recording that checks the bacteria count and will let you know if seimming is allowed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAusDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Always a fun place to go in the summer! But call ahead and make sure its open for swimming, if its rained they normally aren't open. And arrive early the parking lot holds 99cars, so when its full, when one car leaves they let another in! So if you arrive late you may have to wait in line. Also be prepared to hike to get to the water!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbahnmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Pool Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hamilton Pool Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing