We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences we have had!”
Review of Mt Gainor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt Gainor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brenham, Texas, United States
1 review
“One of the best experiences we have had!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our experience at Mt. Gainor Inn was the best of any B&B we have visited. We stayed in the Hideaway room. The room was lovely and very clean. Jerry and Laurie were exceptional hosts. Breakfast was delicious and the Jerry even refilled my husbands coffee mug for him multiple times! We have been to lots of B&Bs with store bought or no breakfast at all. Not the case here --- it was all homemade! The location was far out but it was perfect in the proximity to Camp Lucy where we attended a wedding.

Laurie was very helpful in giving us ideas of where to go and what to explore and drew out a map for us with directions. When we arrived later on Friday evening, we were warmly greeted and Jerry even called in reservations for us at a Creek Road Cafe. It was EXCELLENT! We were even pleasantly surprised when the waiter brought over a dessert with a birthday candle. We had not even mentioned to them that it was my birthday or that it was the purpose of our trip. We were over the top impressed with the service and thoughtfulness! Would highly recommend the Inn to anyone that is planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaigeMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    12
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
98
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to go on a tour of the wine country and didn't want to stay in a typical hotel. We found this place online and were not disappointed. The Garden room was exactly what we hoped for. Romantic, clean and relaxing. I ended up proposing to her and we couldn't have imagined a more romantic place. The owners worked with me personally to setup a few surprises for my new fiance when we returned from our wine trip. These hosts are outstanding and will bend over backwards for you. Their breakfasts are wonderful! I can't say enough good things about this location.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelandJenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms with decks. Very quiet, you can watch deer in the fields and hear the hummingbirds feed. Good breakfast with attentive service. Hot tub and hammocks available. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Veranda room for 3 nights this past weekend. The room is perfect. The bed was so comfortable; neither of us have ever slept as well away from home. The balcony was a perfect place to watch the stars. The bathroom was very nice, a jetted tub for two! And breakfast each morning was something different each time but all of them were absolutely delicious! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I visited for our anniversary. We had one problem after another here - room not clean, room not finished (plywood on the front of the jacuzzi, which also happened to have hair in it), A/C not working properly, mistake with the reservation, and many other issues...however, after writing back and forth with the owners, we did eventually receive a refund on our room when I asked, which I am thankful for. The owners did seem like nice people, and we enjoyed talking with them. The surroundings are quiet and peaceful. The rooms are nicely decorated. If you are looking for a decent place to stay, this would work. However, our room was $179 per night, and I certainly wouldn't pay that for the level of service and state of the room we were given. Plus, there are no nice restaurants in the area, and all attractions are at least 20 minutes away. My husband and I drove 6 hours to stay here, expecting a perfect weekend getaway for our anniversary, and we were very disappointed. We left after one day. I know this is a home business, and I wish I could recommend it, but I just cannot.

If you are wanting the full B&B treatment, a romantic getaway, gourmet breakfast, attention to detail...I would recommend going to Wimberley instead and staying at the Creekhaven Inn. We stayed there for our engagement weekend, and it was incredible! Top-notch service, great rooms, nice restaurants in the area, and things to do in close proximity. Everything you would expect from a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniejade31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roadtime, Owner at Mt Gainor Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
You had received a confirmation for your stay and your room was available and ready for occupancy. We took you to your accommodation and ask if you would like to see the other rooms before the other guests arrived. Afterwards, you ask if you could move your reservation to another room that was closed for painting and finishing of construction. It was very obvious it was not finished. There were no issues with the room originally reserved, however, you preferred the unfinished larger more expensive room which had not been inspected for occupancy. The A/C was inspected after you left by our A/C repair and they said nothing was wrong with the unit. We have continued to have no problems and I have continued to ask guest about any problems and none have arisen. Your lack of dissatisfaction was expressed and we refunded ½ of your stay that morning. It is clearly stated on our web site that we are a rural property. We offer a retreat for those who want to get away from the tourists and traffic, truly relax in peace and quiet, and enjoy the stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Laurie and Jerry were awesome hosts at their B&B. We had a nice relaxing weekend there and it was more than we expected. Friendly, clean, beautiful appointed rooms, and peaceful.
Great food also. Would recommend it to couples looking to get away or just a stress free
weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, none are the same. Most have large jacuzzi bathtubs but some don't. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days at Mt. Gainor Inn celebrating our anniversary and it was beautiful and unforgettable. I choose this B&B because we had never stayed in one and I wanted something more memorable than staying at a chain hotel. I hit the jackpot! This place is
secluded enough where you can hear your own thoughts and relax. The innkeepers are warm and inviting and more importantly, genuine. Each room has its private deck where you can sit out and have a drink and just talk without interruptions. I loved the hammocks and gazing at the stars. I completely recommend this place. If I'm ever in the area, I would definitely stay here again. No need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hideaway, which is modern but still has the farmhouse charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dripping Springs
17.4 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
316 reviews
18.3 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
22.6 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Mountain Star Lodge and Hotel
1.9 mi away
Camp Lucy
Camp Lucy
#2 of 5 in Dripping Springs
24 reviews
8.8 mi away
BellaVida Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gainor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gainor Inn

Property: Mt Gainor Inn
Address: 2390 Prochnow Rd, Dripping Springs, TX 78620-4847
Location: United States > Texas > Dripping Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dripping Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Gainor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I felt like I was floating..it was so quiet, I felt my whole body relaxed and time stood still... MT GAINOR INN is an enchanting 100 year old farm house resting high on a hill with relaxing 360 degree hill country views. We invite you to take a break for a quiet intimate get away from the city or a gathering of friends and family. We specalize in women's retreats and welcome Scrap Booking, Quilting Groups, Cycling clubs, social or business gatherings and Wimberley Market Day treckers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mt Gainor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing