We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Smoke'n Hops - CLOSED

Smoke'n Hops
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

In case you didn't get it from the name, this place is a barbecue restaurant and brewpub. They have live music on the weekend and open mike night on Thursdays. The first time we went, the brisket was so-so, but compared to Franklin's, everybody's brisket is so-so. The (pork) ribs were juicy, tender and delicious, the chicken good, too. About a week later, on a different day of the week, the ribs weren't nearly as good. The service was prompt and friendly both times, They also have outdoor seating and a playground for the kids.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potter
1 review
“Great TX BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had our son's rehearsal dinner here the beginning of June, and the guests raved about the food and brew! The atmosphere was rather lacking, but the staff were very accommodating about letting us put up some decorations for the party. Walter, the manager, was very easy to work with over the phone planning this. The servers, Hailey and Zach, were very attentive and eager to please. We were able to reserve the whole front of the restaurant, and there was a live band playing in the back, which just added to the Texas BBQ experience. The playscape was a great feature for those with young kids. My only holdback on giving a total 5 points is that there was a lack of air conditioning in the dining room and the pulled pork was rather fatty. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable time and we feel that all invited got their fill of a good buffet, good local brew, and a good time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skay74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripp
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The ribs, brisket and sausage were delicious. Really good spices in the rub and smoked to perfection. The potato salad needed help, it was dry and tasteless, the beans were good served with pico de gallo on the top.
The service was exceptional, our waitress was prompt with any request we had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beer and good bbq”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Two of us went for a Saturday night dinner. We got attention pretty quickly but our server acted bored and as if she had better things to do. However, she did recommend a couple of their beers which were terrific. We ordered brisket, pork ribs, chicken, and sausage. Our sides were mashed potatoes, green beans, cole slaw, and fries. The brisket was very tasty but a little fatty for my taste. The pork and chicken just fell off the bones and were pretty good. The sausage was sausage. The mashed potatoes tasted and smelled like they came out of a box. I expect my mashed potatoes to be from a recently cooked potato. The slaw seemed to be lacking dressing. And fries were horrible. My husband did rave about the green beans. One thing that really bothered me was this: we were there at 6:30 and just as we arrived, someone came through and swept the bar. I can understand this if someone had dropped a glass or food but there was nothing. This is probably just one of those things I don't like. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, the restroom doors opened right into the bar. That was a little odd. The band started and 7:00 and we only stayed for one song but they were great! I wish I had caught their name. Overall, not a bad place but it still needs some tweaking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good BBQ atmosphere lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good BBQ but not much of a sports bar as advertised. Bar area very bad planning, small and restroom doors open up so all can get a good view?? Needs to rethink layout. Great outdoor area if weather is nice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dynaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke'n Hops also viewed

Dripping Springs, TX
Dripping Springs, TX
 
Dripping Springs, TX
Dripping Springs, TX
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing