We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Catering!”
Review of Smokehouse

Smokehouse
Ranked #96 of 379 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Catering!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Smokehouse has awesome food and is a great place to order catering from. I have used them more than several times and each time has been really good BBQ. They set up, serve and clean up. Really nice owners. You will not be disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyTxCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Local Barbeque Joint”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were referred to the Smokehouse by a tow truck driver who jumped the dead battery in my car. We found the barbeque to be very good and the prices very reasonable. Friendly and fast service. If I'm in Denton again I will be makeing a return trip to eat here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oktraveler913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad food coupled with ignorance.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Smokehouse has been a staple in Denton for 20+ years. It has always been not-so-great but fast and cheap. The food is ho hum, run of the mill, instant mashed potatoe, frozen hamburger type but as I said... Acceptable in a pinch...until today. I spent an hour (and 30.00) listening to the waitresses sit at a table behind us, making fun of the "fatties" who order both potatoes and bread -God forbid!- and chain smoke cigarette and cigarette while every customer in the place had an empty glass. It didnt take them long to move on from weight discrimination to racism at which point I left, immediatley. Best part? The owner defends these employees to the death and there is no apology or attempt to reconcile even after the use of the "N" word and WORSE. Thanks, but NO thanks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ja0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Usually Good, Cheap Prices- Local Restaurant”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We end up here quite often because of the prices and quick service. The barbeque is always good, and the fresh-cut fries, baked potato, green beans and onion ring sides are also yummy. I usually get the lunch steak special, available all the time. For less than $8, you get a small steak with one side and Texas toast. About 60% of the time, the steak is good, the other times it is overlooked or gristly/tough. My Mom and Dad like this place when they visit town because they offer senior portions at very reasonable prices.
The Smoke house also has special nights that bring in a crowd, such as all-you-can-eat catfish night, rib night, and the very popular Wednesday Steak Night, with soup, salad, choice of steak and side with a small sundae for dessert for around $10.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpikeRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley View, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A "working person's" very good restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Both the food and service was excellent. Any dress wear is appropriate and it's clean.

Helpful?
Thank Bill and Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing