We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Denton Mexican”
Review of El Guapos - CLOSED

El Guapos
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
242 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Denton Mexican”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the only Mexican restaurant we've been to in Denton, I hope there are better ones!

The food was ok, but certainly not the best. Service was worse. I know we were with a large group, but they didn't seem very anxious to serve us.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CMYKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Tex-Mex”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not Mexican food, by any means, but great Tex-Mex. Love their nachos and everything goes well with one, or two, of Mike's awesome margaritas.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kilomza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Good for the times when you get tired of the chain restaurants. Good food and quanity. Some of the wait staff are somewhat slow. Service was poor on this visit. would recomend for families. Good Happy Hour drink specials.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank darcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More Please!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Guapo's is inexpensive and delicious! It's great for college students and families alike. The queso and tortillas are a must have. The margaritas are pretty good too (frozen is always stronger than on the rocks). Never had a bad experience. One of my favorite places in Denton

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere. Great queso and happy hour specials”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

When my kids come into visit, when it's Mexican this is where they always want to go. The prices are quite reasonable, they have great drink specials and the hot salty nachos are the best.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DukieBoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing