We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex-mex food”

MI Ranchito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 380 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tex-mex food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

It's ok, nothing to rave about. Chile con queso was bland. They used taco shells for the tacos (a no no in authentic Mexican food). They don't serve regular Margaitas only a limearita which was frozen (tasted like beer). The waitress was very nice and attentive. The restaurant appeared clean and typical Mexican decorated. Our bill was $50 for 3 (seemed overpriced since we can eat at Taco Cabana for much less.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babester95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My family just ate a delicious meal at Mi Ranchito...we loved it! The salsa was tasty and spicy, and the complementary small bowl (1/4 cup) of beans was delicious ( I could have made a meal on them alone). I ordered the #1 and was not disappointed...they readily accommodated my request to substitute a chicken enchilada for the cheese enchalida. When I go back I will order a chicken enchilada and a tamale...that would be enough for me. In fact, the chicken enchiladas are delicious and I might just get a plate of them. Also, the servers were very friendly and attentive. A true family owned business.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Picky_Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Food and service are excellent!! I would highly recommend this place to anyone. One of our favorite places to go

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't let the external look scare you away!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's a very nice small restaurant in Denton, the staff is nice and attentive, the food is very good and it has very good prices as well.
Beef fajitas are very nice, Carne asada (steak) is huge and good. Absolutely recommended.
It should only look a bit better, and the only reason I don't give 5 to this place is that I've been to a mexican restaurant in New Orleans, where the fajitas were even better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voltunkegyparan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, downscale Tex-Mex”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place comes straight at you with solid and tasty Tex-Mex food. The only frill in this little pay-at-the-register joint is the tiny complementary serving of borracho beans. The tacos and enchiladas are very good. They offer several bottled Mexican beers (and sodas) in addition to domestic brands. The salsa is spicy. Service is unsophisticated but attentive. It is usually busy, even on week nights and is often packed. We come back regularly, and I know people who think it's the best Mexican food in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MI Ranchito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to MI Ranchito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing