We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's our go to resturaunt when in Denton. We also eat at the one in Aubry but if I had to choose I would pick Denton . Love love” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Grande Mexican Restaurant

Villa Grande Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 373 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's our go to resturaunt when in Denton. We also eat at the one in Aubry but if I had to choose I would pick Denton . Love love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The foods great I'm just disappointed they didn't care that my grandson had 2 degree burns. That they didn't care enough to call us to give use the information we needed to let the right people know how dangerous those lights are and still are...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GammyRhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhome, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and great tasting food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This restaurant is located conveniently near a shopping area in Denton, TX. The food has great flavor with a hit of spice, enough to let you taste the actual seasoning of the food which was excellent. The chicken was tender and moist and the shrimp was cooked to perfection. The sour cream is very mexican (soooo yummy!). The ambiance is upbeat with great selection of music but not loud. The booth seating was my favorite, they are tall seat rests so if you are a couple and want privacy from families with small screaming kids (like us) :-) this is a great place to be. It has a very nice covered patio fast service. It has a bar area with screens so great for game time. The service was fast, server (Martin) was very attentive and kept our table supplied at all times. The only thing we did not like was that we had to wait a couple of minutes (not much) as there was no hostess up front when we got there and were in a bit of a rush, this might have been a "fluke" but it was the only thing we did not like and will still say it was excellent and will definitely come back for some more great food. Price range I between $8 and $14 per plate).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lsantana69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place and the RITAS!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The margaritas are absolutely fantastic and large too! After 2 larges you may wanna sit back and relax for a bit because you will probably have a bit of a buzz! Dont think that the food isnt just as good as the margaritas because it is... pretty much anything on the menu is A1 in my opinion!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald76207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

First off the host was very rude and did not help us in the door. The wait staff was very young and comparing muscles and talking about a girls breast.

But the food was alright. Tons and tons of tequila to chose from.

Helpful?
Thank S_Keith_S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
211 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went here for lunch while shopping in Denton. My daughter had been to another location and loved it so we gave it a try. The parking was awful; the restaurant shares parking spaces with other stores in this small strip mall. Once inside we were seated immediately and our drink orders taken. It went downhill from there. Our drinks arrived about 7 minutes later, and then we had to wait seemingly forever to get our orders taken. I had the taco salad, which was small and had very little meat. I forget what the other members of the group ordered, but everyone complained about the small quantities and lack of meat. The server checked on us only once and did not clear away dirty dishes. He was even slow in giving us our check. Never again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Villa Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing