We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent donuts, fun place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denton Square Donuts - CLOSED

Denton Square Donuts
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent donuts, fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

At first I just loved the name (on the square in Denton, they sell SQUARE donuts!), but the lasting memory is of the donuts themselves. More like yum-yums, in that they're more layered in texture. Loved it. Sad to hear that it might have closed down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not really donuts, but still fun, sweet treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

While the name says "Donuts", they're really puff pastry confections more than donuts. My kids love going because of the cool combinations of flavors with things like fruit, cookies, and even breakfast cereal. My personal favorite is the one with maple frosting and bacon. Yes, bacon. Try it and you'll see. My theory is that it's the combination of salty and sweet, because I don't even like bacon, but I order this one every time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fdresources
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closed up shop 2-14-14”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

They have unfortunately close up shop permanently. Was a wonderful, quirky, and unique place and we're sad to see it gone.

Helpful?
Thank Goodarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Unique donut experience. Yummy yummy. Tried several and all were wonderful. Unusual combinations. Worth the trip

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty donuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

These are not your typical donuts. They're a flaky pastry style square with delicious gourmet toppings. The service was friendly and we had a nice time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HilzDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denton Square Donuts also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing