We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the ice!”

Cartwright's Ranch House
Ranked #5 of 376 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cartwright's Ranch House opened in 2011, but began as a dream many years ago. Located in Denton, TX they serve home-style foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All made from scratch. Famous for their chicken-fried AWESOMENESS!
Frisco, Texas, United States
1 review
“Skip the ice!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My server put ice in my cup without using a scoop. Later, he found an ice scoop and dropped it on the floor. He washed it off with only cold water from the soda fountain as a waitress laughed and said, "gross!" There seems to be no management present--just a bunch of unorganized employees who don't care a whole lot!
I've been there several times because the food was good, but on Sunday I waited 32 minutes and my food never came.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    84
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great chicken fried steak.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first time we were with a group of 30 people.Friendly atmosphere. Wait staff always attentive with a smile. Affordable prices and the best Chicken fried steak in Denton. Been back several times and food and service always great. Breakfast is also great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuVaccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great improvement over Ruby's”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The grunge is gone! The food is good and the service was much improved. An improvement to the square! Too bad the Fine Arts next door couldn't be opened as a theater again. Valuable property to the square.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 368JimP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Down on the ranch cooking”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a good meal with steak, country fried steak and fresh vegetables. Prices are great. Service was wonderful. Will go back again went we go back to Denton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbpetrusek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and delicious!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went into Cartwright's because we were on the square and our son was starving! As soon as we walked in, our waitress said sit anywhere. As soon as we sat down, she brought us menus and took our drink order. I had the chicken fried steak, my husband had the open face pot roast sandwich and our son had the black and bleu burger with fries. The food came very quickly and was delicious! We all took samples from each other’s plates and I have to say my husband’s food was the best, but they all tasted great! The only thing negative thing I could say, would be that the side salad my husband and I had was pretty unimpressive, but otherwise 2 thumbs way up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cartwright's Ranch House also viewed

 

Been to Cartwright's Ranch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing