We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise while traveling”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Inn

Abbey Inn
Ranked #19 of 376 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: British American casual dining featuring traditional favorites British favorites such as beer battered fish n' chips, bangers n' mash, cottage pie & Scotch eggs. Also serving, great burgers, tender steaks & terrific Reuben and Monte Cristo sandwiches. Full bar with great selection of import beers & 29 degree draft beer. Brunch on Saturday & Sunday.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise while traveling”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had been thinking about finding a British or Scottish themed restaurant in the Dallas area and were pleased to have the Abbey recommended. I'm now happy to recommend it as we'll. together we has bangers and mash and a delicious entree called Gaelic chicken (yum!). Topped the experience off with Guinness ice cream. Certainly different for a dessert but a unique experience none-the-less. We will certainly go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin55Java
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pub Experience in Denton”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went with some friends to get the pub experience. Nice atmosphere, great British beers on tap. Appetizer and main course were tasty. Need to find time to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Twisted Thistle, Scotch Eggs & Cockaleeky Soup!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

When Abbey Inn first appeared on the scene in Denton, it took a while for it to find itself, or so it seemed to me. But once it did, I expect it will now be here about as long as Denton is here. When a friend introduced us to "Twisted Thistle" (an India Pale Ale), it changed our beer drinking forever. We loved it so much that we seek out IPAs whenever we are having beer. At first, I thought the Raspberry Coulis, which comes with the Scotch Eggs was too many flavors together, but now, I don't ever want Scotch Eggs without it. The Cockaleeky Soup is seasonal, and when it is out of season the Muggletawny is also great--they must use a food thermometer because those soups come out the perfect temperature every time, and exactly the same through and through.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank camille m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Looking for Fish & Chips?”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are looking for Fish and Chips and a pint...this is your place in Denton. Nice atmosphere, bar and great food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pub Experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

On a snowy day last winter we ended up at the Abbey Inn, after I had recently returned from a trip to London. The Abbey has captured the pub feeling and the food is good too!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank skeil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Inn also viewed

 

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing