We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Denton's "Go To" Breakfast spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old West Cafe

Old West Cafe
Ranked #2 of 373 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Denton's "Go To" Breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very unassuming little place, with really good food. The line is out the door on the weekends, and don't be surprised at a 45-minute wait for a table. Service is very friendly, and the food is delivered quickly. Very generous portions. The "Kountry Kitch" decor is a little tired, but, after all, it's called "The Old West Cafe." When we go out for breakfast, this is by far our favorite place. Breakfast for two with coffee usually runs to $23-25 dollars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    84
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant is very popular as evidenced by having to circle the parking lot three times before finding a place to park. Once inside we surprisingly found and empty table. Immediately we had coffee and water. The food service is quick and served nice and hot as well as being very tasty. The portions are quite large - no possibility of leaving hungry.

When in Denton, don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Notagoodytwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The pancakes are to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The building, tables and chairs are old style, but the food is great!! Get there early OR you will have to wait!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjobota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This tiny, unassuming place has amazing food! We felt lucky to find it. We checked-out late from a hotel and searched for somewhere that was still serving breakfast. So I guess I better mention that our family all had breakfast items. It was superb. I recommend the cinnamon rolls, and they have that good kind of bacon, you know, thick & meaty. Awesome pancakes, and my husband loved his breakfast burrito. We don't get to Denton, TX very often, but from now on when we are in town we'll be stopping here for a bite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StarbuckDifranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast just doesn't get any better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It doesn't matter what you order here, it will be good. The pancakes, the awesome biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs, skillets, etc... Am I making you hungry!? It's a delicious local tradition. Word of warning, though; they get very busy on weekend mornings and parking can be a pain. But, it's worth the wait. We like to go about 1:30pm (they close at 2:00pm). That way it's usually not as busy, and you can get breakfast all day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank banana1975727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old West Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing