We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice historical site, the birthplace and grounds are nicely maintained and restored.”

Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Denison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in the heart of Denison, Eisenhower Birthplace State Historic Site showcases the home where the 34th U.S. President Dwight David "Ike" Eisenhower was born in 1890. Antique furnishings fill the modest frame house, illustrating the working class life of the Eisenhowers. The visitors center celebrates Ike with memorabilia and exhibits featuring his many accomplishments as president and war hero.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice historical site, the birthplace and grounds are nicely maintained and restored.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice historical site, the birthplace looks like it has been restored to period appearance.. Lot's of photo's and history info to view at visitor's center without admission charge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    39
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed !”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We checked the birthplace website to see when the facility was open. It listed visiting hours from 9 am to 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday. We arrived at approximately 11 am on a Wednesday and there was no one in the area. The visitor center was a run down home with a wooden plaque on the wall that indicated that this was the building. There was a light on but no one appeared to be present. The museum was dark and definitely not open. We drove by the home and it was also not open. From the outside it looked like it had been well kept. We enjoyed stopping by the statue of Ike and read the inscriptions on the base. This was the only thing worth seeing during our visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Little Snapshot Of History”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Although President Eisenhower didn't live in Denison for very long, I thought it was a wonderful tribute that the city purchased his birth home and maintain it as a very humble but important part of history. The house and property is kept in splendid condition and there is a very nice statue outside. I am really glad I stopped by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Just interesting”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had stayed at a nearby Corp of Engineer park and wanted something to do. Denison was just down the street so we stumbled on to this Eisenhower place by chance...there was a road sign. The small museum in a period house was kind of interesting with photos etc. You can't drive to the birthplace house per se, but it is only a short walk. We didn't pay to go inside the house so it was just an OK place to visit....just interesting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
561 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“The Denison, Texas Claim To Fame”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I visited the house that Dwight D. Eisenhower was born in. The home has been furnished with items that are from that period of time, but none of the items were possessions of the Eisenhowers. To view the inside of the home, you have to go on one of the scheduled tours. One of the tours starts at 11:30 AM. If you have time to pass before the tour, you can view Ike items and watch a short film in the visitor center. Near the home, there is a larger than life statue of Eisenhower from his time as the Supreme Allied Commander during WWII.

This attraction is neat to visit if you are in the area, but I wouldn’t make a special trip to Denison. The admission price is $4 a person. This attraction seems to be the claim to fame of the town. Should you have any questions about this review, feel free to send me a message.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing