We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Denison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in the heart of Denison, Eisenhower Birthplace State Historic Site showcases the home where the 34th U.S. President Dwight David "Ike" Eisenhower was born in 1890. Antique furnishings fill the modest frame house, illustrating the working class life of the Eisenhowers. The visitors center celebrates Ike with memorabilia and exhibits featuring his many accomplishments as president and war hero.
Gainesville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HUm”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice place to visait for the price, however we was rushed thu just a number and they could care less about ansering our questions!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    43
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Worth a short stop”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are heading along US 75, its worth a short stop.Its certainly not Mount Vernon, but does give a good sense of how humble Eisenhower's origins were relative to his historical significance.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ron and Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“it was a place that i could have grown up in as I am a chid of that age, He was president when I was a child .”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

yes the charm of the place was that it was a place that all of us in the 50s could have grown up in .

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leonard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Museum was small and most of artifacts were something Eisenhower would have owned but nothing appeared to be his. The film in the visitor's center was very informative and enjoyable. The grounds were so nice to walk around and would be a great place for group get together. Not in the best part of town.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It is just enjoyable for me to visit these places of past times and especially where one of our presidents was born and raised. I just love history and things that pertain to it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie and Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing