We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL FOR LONG-TERM, BUSINESS OR WHATEVER.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Decatur
Victoria, Texas
1 review
“BEST HOTEL FOR LONG-TERM, BUSINESS OR WHATEVER.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff at this hotel is above stellar. Besides offering free washer and dryer usage, this hotel has all the comforts of home (stove, microwave, full-sized refrigerator). I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, friendly, and quiet environment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in ourselves as the best extended stay hotel in Decatur TX. We hope you will visit us again real soon!!!

Regards,
From your award winning team at Candlewood Suites Decatur Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    14
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
6
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice stay. The staff was very helpful, especially the GM and the director of sales. A couple nice touches were the TV in the elevator, and the recliner in the room. I'm in Decatur once a year, and I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the GREAT review - we're so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Candlewood Suites Decatur TX. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards from your friends at Candlewood Suites Decatur TX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Staying at the Candlewood in Decatur Texas has been more than a hotel stay. I actually look forward to staying here Monday thru Friday every week. It really feels like home!! Everything is extremely clean. I really appreciated how friendly and helpful the staff and house keeping have been.

The management Nick & Laurie go above and beyond their call of duty to make sure you have everything you need.

I especially like the Wednesday Night social event. All you can eat and drink and wow the food is delicous!!

Check out the pool area!

Room Tip: The view from any room should be great. Candlewood is on a hill over looking the town. I prefer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your lovely compliments. It is our pleasure to be your hosts, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Candlewood Suites Decatur TX. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!!

Warm Regards,
Your Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff is helpful and very welcoming. I can tell they're happy that I'm staying there and have always done whatever they can to help out. The workout and laundry room is always open and the pool is a nice facility. The size of the fridge alone is enough to keep me there over other places in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigJake48, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your response. We take pride in ourselves on being the best hotel in Decatur TX. We like to consider all of our guests part of the Candlewood family. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My review stands but something odd. Around the entry way, lobby , store, gym of this place is trash...it almost looks planted. When I came in last night I just thought they had been super busy even though I didn't see any customers, this morning same story. Even though front desk workers just sitting there with nobody around. If I was sitting in this lovely place I would keep it clean. Maybe they get very low pay and this is their protest.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Till-Ya-Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Travel-Till-Ya-Drop,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I'd love to leave a raving review of this hotel simply to support the housekeeping staff. They do an amazing job. This hotel is immaculate. The ammenities are also remarkable. Unfortunately, the goodness ends there.

We stayed here with a group and were supposedly given a group rate. Only to find out later, we were given a rate about $45.00 MORE per night than a comparable group. (This information came from a slip of tongue by one of the staff members).

Furthermore, we were told by the sales manager, since our group was visiting due to a sports tournament, we could leave if our team lost on the day we lost. However, even when asking 48 hours in advance to remove a night from my own reservation, I was met with hostility and was told I could not just "walk up there and remove a night" from my reservation. This startled me. I have stayed at many hotels and have NEVER had a problem leaving early when giving notice (esp 48 hours!). Then, I found out other group members had been allowed to do what I was being denied.

Finally, when the sales manager "remembered" she had agreed to allow us to leave early, we thought the confusion was settled. Nope. On the day of our departure, when we lost and our team rep notified the hotel we'd be checking out, I went to the front dest as soon as possible to turn in my keys. I was informed (by one of the most unkind desk clerks I've encountered in the hotel business) I would be charged for that night because I didn't meet their deadline. WHAT?!?

After settling the matter, I began my travel home. The next morning, I checked my online banking and realized the hotel still had a hold on my account for over $300.00 more than what I owed. My bank said to simply have the hotel fax my receipt to them and they'd release the hold. This took me over three hours to attempt to resolve. AND I HAD TO CONTACT THEIR HEADQUARTERS just to persuade them to fax my receipt (which they NEVER ended up doing, by the way).

So, as much as I'd like to say I enjoyed my stay at Candlewood Decatur, the stress of dealing with their front desk staff and management far outweighed any pleasure. I would never recommend staying there unless you don't mind the tension and are looking for a fight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear criseaver,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience with our housekeeping staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

We are pleased to see our Customer Care department has been in touch with you privately and has addressed your concerns.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We choose to stay at Candlewoods cause it was close to the hospital. Staff was so friendly & helpful. The rooms were excellent (more than we expected). The front desk lady gave us a tour an we just couldnt believe there was a grill out back on the patio for the guest to cook out, an the rooms have a FULL size kitchenette. From now on when we have family come down to stay or if we just wanna get out i know to stay at CANDLEWOOD in Decatur, Texas

Room Tip: If you are looking for a home away from home...Candlewood's is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decatur hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Decatur
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Decatur
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 13 in Decatur
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#10 of 13 in Decatur
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center

Property: Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center
Address: 601 W Thompson St, Decatur, TX 76234-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Decatur, Texas the Candlewood Suites Medical District is the perfect place to relax and unwind with our customer service oriented staff. Our 82 beautiful guest rooms offer the perfect combination of convenience, comfort, and southern hospitality. Let us be your home away from home!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites Decatur Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing